/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Computing

jannat
05-07-2007, 03:50 PM
Assalamu a laykum,

Does anyone study computer science , computer related subjects at uni?
i am studying computing , i have to say its hard ! its nothing like what i studied in college.

Any tips anyone on how to survive on the course, its pretty hard core stuff.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
islamirama
05-07-2007, 03:55 PM
wa'alaikum as'salaam

CS is hard and very tedious and time consuming. Mostly nerds and those who don't have much social life go into it. It will take all your time with little left if any to have social life, family or what not. Have you looked into CIS or MIS?

tips wise, best thing to do is get in groups with smart students who know what they are doing. Group studies and work helps a lot.

jannat
05-08-2007, 10:29 AM
Jazakallah for advice. i do info systems within my course, it is 'easier' than CS, as there is not much programming, esp Java , which i dont enjoy much, however there is still alot of work involved, like you said , it is difficult to give time to other activities/ clubs, i.e Islamic societies at uni, i am part of one but its hard to make a major contribution to it due to the course.

iwuvaziaf
05-08-2007, 10:38 AM
Assalamaleykummm!

here's someone i can relate too..

I am in second year of info systems.. its soooo crap.. i done ICT at college. and man! it felt like a breeze! alhumdullilah! sitting down 10 hrs.. 2 days in a row and my assignments would be complete but now juggling uni, work and family life (rounds never end..MashaAllah!)... so neglecting my friends now and i know exactly wot u mean! i had become editor of my isoc mag but dropped that.. there really is no time..

wot to do.. i can tell u..! talk to ur family and minimize everything by halves and set around 6 hrs of study time everyday to modules.. alternating each day.. i.e. 2 hrs per module.. but u must be nearing exam period now like myself..!! plz pray for me.. yikes!