Asalamu Aleykum my dear brothers and sisters in islam........Reply
My purpose for this post is not to entertain no one but rather to have clear thought on what has pork baverage or what doesnts. :blind: The world we live in today is really hard to know and be aware of everything you digest whether its halal or whether its haram +o( so if anyone knows other names that pork has please post it up because you can bennefit and help save others lives from haram food. Insha'allah brothers and sisters lets take this into deep consideration and do our search. May Allah help us stay pork free!!!
05-26-2007, 11:12 PM
Originally Posted by edil
This is basically the job of religious scholars to update the list of haram products from all over the world. I don't know why they don't do this kind of job.
05-27-2007, 12:46 AM
LIST OF HALALReply
AND HARAM FOOD INGREDIENTS
The lists below have been taken with permission from the book 'Islamic Dietary Laws and Practices by Mohammad Mazhar Hussaini and M S Ahmad Hussein Sakr, Ph.D .
It should be noted that a product being imported from a Muslim country is not necessarily a guarantee that it is completely Halal. In fact, food is often imported from abroad into Muslim countries without proper checking of ingredients.
1. AN ALPHABETICAL DEFINITION GUIDE
An alphabetical list of Halal and Haram ingredients to look out for:
Bacon: A side of pig meat (pork).
Choletsorol: type of fat always of animal origin. If extracted from Zabiha animal, it is Halal.
Diglyceride: Emulsifier. If of animal origin it should be suspected till the source is known.
Gelatin (Jello Gelatin): Usually of animal origin, mostly from pig. If extracted from a dhabiha animal, then it is halal/
Glycerol (Glycerine): It could be of animal, plant or Glyceryl-Stearate synthetic origin. If animal source is used, it is suspected.
Hormones: Usually animal hormones are used for human consumption. One has to find out the source before passing a judgement.
Lard: Fat from swine particulaly found in the abdominal cavity. Totally Haram for us.
Magnesium Stearate (stearic acid): Used as an active ingredient in medicine tablets. Haram when derived from animal source.
Mono Glycerides: When derived from animal source. (Halal when the source is plant).
Pepsin: A digestive enzyme mostly from pig stomach.
Rennin (Rennet): A protein Enzyme. Usually not labeled. (In most cheeses).
Shortening: Fats and oils of animal origin. Animal/Lard
Vanilla: Extracted using alcohol.
Vitamins: Haram when from animal source. Mostly the source is synthetic or plant and are Halal.
Whey: Used in ice creams and yogurt. Haram when from animal source.
2. A PARTIAL LIST OF HALAL INGREDIENTS
S/N Name of Ingredients Code No Brief Description
Antioxidants: Chemical compounds used to protect certain food components from being destroyed or lost through oxidation.
Ascorbic acid: Vitamin C.
Benzoate (Benzoic acid): Benzoic acid and sodium benzoate are used for food preservation.
Biotin: A member of the B complex vitamins.
BHA: An antioxidant, preservative.
BHT: An antioxidant, preservative.
Citric acid: Sources are plant, usually of the citrus family. (e.g. orange, lime, lemon).
Cobalamine: Synthetically prepared Vitamin B12.
Dextrin: An emulsifying, sizing, and thickening agent.
Fiber: Sources are plant. Provide roughage to diet.
Fructose: Fruit sugar.
Gliadin (Gluten): Ptotein found in wheat and rye.
Hydrogenated oil: Vegetable oil being hydrogenated making it solid at room temperature.
Iodine: A nutrient for thyroid gland.
Lecithin: Emulsifier of fat. In the USA, sources are mainly soyabean and egg yolk.
Lipids : Essential fatty acids found in fish, plant and animals. If source is animal; it is suspected.
Malt: A kind of fermented grain.
Molasses: Syrup liquid obtained in refining sugar.
MSG: Flavoring. Imparts meat flavor to foods.
Niacin: One of the B complex vitamins.
PABA: A food supplement.
Pectin: A gelatinous substance extracted from fruits.
Propionic acid: A preservative.
Riboflavin: One of the B complex vitamins. Usually the source is synthetic.
Pure vegetable shortening: Source of this kind of shortening is plant.
100% vegetable shortening: Source of this kind of shortening is plant.
Sweetener: Substance that gives a sweet taste.
Thiamin: One of the B complex vitamins.
Vanillin: Flavoring agent, extracted from vanilla.
Vitamin A: If source are plant and synthetic, it is halal.
Vitamin C: Natural sources are from plant. (e.g. citrus fruit, tomatoes, etc).
Vitamin D: Natural sources are yeast and fish liver oil. Also synthetically produced.
Vitamin E: Rich sources of Vitamin E are vegetable oils. When source is synthetic, it is halal. If source is animal, it is suspected.
Water: The nutrient most vital to man's existence.
Food yeast: Microscopic, unicellular, fungal plant used for fermentation process and in baking bread.
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.
When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Powered by vBulletin® Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.