PDA

View Full Version : Haram PRODUCTS FROM WRIGLEYS



Pure
06-04-2007, 03:50 PM
Dear Afifa,

Thank you for writing requesting information regarding our a Wrigley product. We appreciate your interest in our company and our products.

In answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in Canada are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products. Glycerin is the most common ingredient in our gum products. Glycerin can come from animal, vegetable or synthetic sources. The glycerin we use comes from vegetable sources only.

At present, the only exceptions are Extra® Polar IceTM, Altoids® mints, Juicy Fruit Twisted Green, Lifesavers Gummies, Excel Cool Blast mints and Lifesavers Cremesavers.

Extra® Polar Ice gum contains tiny flavour beads encased in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based. This brand is not to be confused with Excel ® Polar Ice, which does not contain gelatin. Juicy Fruit Twisted Green gum uses shellac (also known as Confectioner's Glaze) as a coating agent.

In addition, the different varieties of our ALTOIDS® mints, Lifesavers Gummies and Excel Cool Blast (liquid-filled) mints do contain very small quantities of gelatin which is derived from pork. Gelatin does not impart any flavor to ALTOIDS, but it's a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mints. When we use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing process. Lifesavers Cremesavers brands use dairy products.

Our staff is continually looking at alternatives to animal gelatin, but at the moment we've not been able to find a substitute that produces the same quality consumers expect of our products.

Another common question concerns whether glycerin or sugar alcohols are true alcohols or not. Glycerin is an alcohol but this type of alcohol is a natural byproduct of most plants, fruits and vegetables or it sometimes has a synthetic source. Sugar alcohols refers to the group of ingredients that are artificial sweeteners. We would like to point out that these alcohols are NOT the same as the ethyl alcohol found in alcoholic beverages.

Your interest in the Wrigley Company is greatly appreciated, Afifa. We hope this information is helpful to you.

Sincerely,

Darlena Johns
Consumer Affairs Representative


PR@wrigley.com
Tell them that a great company like Wrigley can gain a larger consumer populace from the Jewish and Muslim communities, who do not eat Pork, and from the vegetarian, and religious vegetarian populations if they ensure to keep ALL their products pork and animal free.
Reply

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
*~Sofia~*
06-04-2007, 08:46 PM
salam sister,

Jazakallah 4 sharing this very impotant info wid us.. was beneficial.
May Allah reward u :)

wasalam
Reply

......
06-05-2007, 06:43 PM
wow i didnt know that
Reply

Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Sign Up

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-09-2011, 03:38 PM
  2. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-05-2009, 10:03 AM
  3. Replies: 35
    Last Post: 05-30-2006, 08:57 AM
  4. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 05-29-2006, 05:12 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-06-2006, 12:06 PM

IslamicBoard

Experience a richer experience on our mobile app!