/* */

PDA

View Full Version : how to resist peer pressure

tryinghard
06-05-2007, 12:46 AM
I'm a college student who lives far away from home and therefore, has to live in a dorm. There are some Muslim kids, but not that many, and most of my friends including dorm mates are non-Muslims. Most of the people I know drink and do drugs and go clubbing. And, I know this is haraam, but I'm beginning to feel pressured to participate in these activities. I don't want to, but everyone around me is like "you have to have fun,"/ "you don't know how to have fun." How do I resist peer pressure without feeling isolated from everyone around me? I know this should not be an issue, but it's hard being a muslim college student living far away from home. Any advice?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Abdul Fattah
06-05-2007, 03:03 PM
Well first off all you need to know your priorities. For example if your priority is the afterlife, and you want to do well as a muslim, then that means that you won't be compatible with everyone, and that means in some cases you will get isolated. That's just the way it is. That being said, your situation isn't hopeless, and I'm sure there's plenty of things you could do/say to have them accept you for who you are. You just have to put your foot down and show that you won't have it any other way. And then the choice is up to them, either they leave you alone, or they accept that you put religion before "fun". B.t.w I can tell you, it's not that funny as they make it sound. In fact your better of without it, and I'm sure that by saying no to these things you'll be able to "enjoy" your life a lot more in the long run, as opposed to an addict.

BanGuLLy
06-05-2007, 03:11 PM