/* */

PDA

View Full Version : What do you do?

gladTidings
07-06-2007, 10:05 PM
:sl: :)

Hope you are all in the best of health and imaan.

Ever since I was introduced to the concept of interest (money), and the fact that it is such a sin I have felt very strongly about it. Although I understand it is difficult to avoid, it really disturbs me the number of Muslims paying and spending interest money.

As a student I chose not to take out a loan because of this reason. However due to financial difficulties later in the academic year I decided to take an overdraft from the bank on the conditions that it is interest free. I wasn’t aware that I would be gaining interest on the money in the account. At the end of the year I gained 8 pence of interest money. Which I removed from my account and gave to a random charity, with no intention of gaining reward as the money doesn’t belong to me.

Recently I have been looking to close this account so I receive no further interest and find an alternative over draft facility without receiving interest. I was talking to a family member about this and he suggested that I keep the account where I am receiving interest and use this money to give to Islamic charities. Obviously my initial response was to refuse. But he went on to say that the money will be used by the bank anyway and it would be better that the money is given to a worthy cause. For example TSB Bank supports a certain charity, rather than the money going to that charity why not give it to an Islamic charity? Although all of this would be without the intention of receiving rewards.

I don’t know I still feel strongly about totally avoiding interest... But I’m just wondering what you guys think of this. And also what do you do with the interest money that you receive?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
itsme
07-07-2007, 03:32 AM
:sl: