/* */

PDA

View Full Version : i need your beneficial advises sis & bro

mine
07-24-2007, 03:53 PM
i'm a university student and i will study in belgium under the framework of Socrates/Erasmus student exchange program this year. i will stay there almost a year and i have some concerns about my practice of religion. i saw many muslim sis and bro who live in nonmuslim countries. you may have some advises for me. i really need your guidence. this stay in belgium will be an exchange of cultures and living stlye. i guess i wont have many muslim friends and i dont know to what extend i should live my religion openly. i dont know what their reaction will be. its for sure that they have already some prejudices against muslims. plus i am turk :statisfie this may double my problemsimsad what do you suggest?

thank you in advance

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
islamirama
07-24-2007, 05:07 PM
salaamu alaikum,

Seek out the local community in the city you are staying. There's Muslim student organizations in universities often so check them out as well. Stick to islam and be yourself, if someone doesn't it like it then you report to your program head. Don't compromise your deen to please them.

you can read about belgium here
http://www.euro-islam.info/pages/belgium.html

-----
I am a Brussels resident, and to be frank, I never saw Muslim women begging on the streets. Most beggars are organized Eastern-European gangs and locals. My guess is that it was an imposter, using the scarf just to draw attention and get some money.

It is true that the Belgian government does a lot for Muslims. Immans are state-paid, and it's illegal to phrase anti-Muslim remarks in public. You will not be harassed if you phrase anti-Christian remarks, but you will be fined or put on trial when you admit to be anti-Muslim.