/* */

PDA

View Full Version : A communist atheist is claiming that fasting is harmful

'Abd-al Latif
09-04-2007, 03:24 PM
Peace be upon the seekers of truth. Before you read, please note that this is not a refutation nor am I trying to spark any problems, this is no more then an article which I hope everyone finds useful inshAllah.

Question:
I live in Russia where I am studying. Most of our professors are communists who do not believe in the existence of the Creator. One of them said to us: “How can this God of yours command you not to eat and drink during the day when this is damaging to the health?” How do you advise us to respond to this communist, may Allaah humiliate him?.

Answer:
Praise be to Allaah.

Fasting – as well as being basically an act of worship that is prescribed in Islam and an obligation enjoined by Allaah, is also one of the most beneficial of remedies and most effective means of strengthening one’s body. This is according to the testimony of non-Muslim doctors, let alone Muslim ones.

Fasting plays an effective role in treating psychological problems and strengthening the will-power of the fasting person, softening his feelings, and making him love to do good and keep away from argumentative and hostile tendencies; it also increases his spiritual feelings. So it strengthens his personality and makes him more able to bear problems and burdens. Undoubtedly this is reflected positively in a person’s health.

This is one aspect. From another angle, fasting also plays a role in treating many physical disorders, such as diseases of the digestive system like gastritis, irritable bowel syndrome, liver diseases and indigestion, as well as treating obesity, hardening of the arteries, high blood pressure, angina, asthma, etc.

The Swiss doctor Barcellus wrote: