/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Ugrent Advice Required

AnonymousPoster
10-24-2007, 03:16 PM
Aslam walaikum,

I really need help on a serious issue:cry:. I am a student at the London School of Economics and Political Science studying a degree (first year so I am 18yrs old) Recently, I receieved a proposal from a family in regards to my marriage and I accepted. My parents are organising an 'engagament' party for later on this year as they are very happy with this proposal. The problem is that my fiance wishes to talk to me...something which I understand is not encouraged in Islam. However, as he is very decent and understands...we wish to get married. Sadly, my parents have stated that I cannot get married until after I finish my degree...however I feel that by continuily talking to him (as his parents encourage us to do so) I am commiting wrong. So we have decided to have a secret nikkah performed (but shall not register the marriage as we do not want our family's getting upset)...so...when I get married after I finish my degree my parents will be happy and in the meanwhile I shall not be commiting any wrong.

As my fiance lives abroad he will be coming here next week so we can perform out nikkah. I am frantically searching for mosques who will do this.

We tried the East London Mosque however they seem to think we have some kind of illicit relationship, thus we are performing a nikkah. Their feedback has not been helpful at all, and now I am urgently looking for a mosque. I feel saddened that they are not willing to perform such a noble deed of a nikkah...and that they are making us feel extremely uncomfortable.