/* */

PDA

View Full Version : I need some guidance.

nazeeh
01-10-2008, 12:40 AM
:sl:
This is my first time on these boards, and I am honored to be here. Thank you for having such a great place.

I write to you asking for guidance in a specific matter that actually poses a more global question in my life that I struggle with often.

I was born in the USA and hence have the citizenship. My younger brother though was not born here due to the fact that my dad decided to go back to our home country (Egypt). My dad has ever since then lived in a form of guilt over not giving my brother what he gave me. That's background info though.

My wife is currently pregnant. So is my brother's wife. Both are due in May with a two week difference between them. With due dates being + or - 2 weeks, they could actually give birth at the same time. My brother had this idea of sending his wife and my mom to stay with us here a month before she's due. This way she can have the baby here in USA and the baby would get the U.S. citizenship. With the baby having it, all sons/daughters from that point on would have it too. Almost like giving it to an entire upcoming generation. Having the U.S passport is generally a good thing in that it opens up the world to a person. He knows that because he suffers from not having one now. Even when you live in Egypt, you get better treatment just for having it. And it's good to know that if things go bad (in whatever way) in Egypt, there's a way out.