/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Muslims in America

m_2005
11-01-2005, 10:49 PM
:sl:

I was wondering, what is life like for muslims in America, post 9/11. Is it really that bad, or has it been exaggerated?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Zuko
11-01-2005, 11:04 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by m_2005

I was wondering, what is life like for muslims in America, post 9/11. Is it really that bad, or has it been exaggerated?
I don't know what's being said but this is how it is for me. Well I'm no grownup, but as a student, I'll tell you, the first two years after the attacks, life was scary and tough. Muslims stayed away from the subways especially... Groups of kids from other schools would come to my school with knives, clubs and such. You'd get the stares, have people spitting on you, your property would be vandalized and stuff. But nowadays, (this is me, not necessarily every Muslim around my age) I don't notice anything. No one says anything to me anymore... Sure they'd look, but that's it. We haven't been robbed for a while now (al-hamdulilah) and basically, not much happens now. But the hate is still there in their hearts.

This is the case for me and the kids in the Bay Ridge area of New York... Don't know about other parts, but I'm guessing it shouldn't be too different.

BlissfullyJaded
11-01-2005, 11:13 PM

Things are more difficult, and its way harder to have a Muslim appearance (brothers having beards, sisters wearing niqaab, etc) without people staring at you like you're a terrorist. I don't blame them..after all that is what they are fed by the media. :sister:

But it depends on the area you're in. Right after the attacks there was hatred here in Southern Cali, there wasn't as much violence against Muslims. There was just ice cold stares and people watching your every move. There was more violence in the East Coast, as they were more personally affected by the attacks.