/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Religious profiling

kadafi
11-27-2005, 02:47 PM
:sl:

Four days ago, I attempted to wire some money via Western Union and one of their representatives specifically told me in the end that the transaction was completed succesfully without any problems. Oddly enough, they contacted me on the same day saying that I have to provide proof of ID to confirm my identity and place of birth. Since I have never used Western Union before; I assumed that it was some sort of security check for first time customers so I complied with the request. I faxed them my passport and rang them 3 hours later to inquire about the status of my order. They told me that they have forwarded the 'case' to the Legal Department in USA. Upon asking why, they told me that your first name, which is the common name (Muhammad), appeared on the US watchlist and they told me that it can take months before you are cleared. I politely asked them that I cannot wait months and that I wanted a refund. They replied saying that they cannot release the money until the Legal Department in USA releases your case. I hung up and googled if there were similiar cases.

To my suprise, a similiar (reported) incident happend in the USA a few years ago.
Western Union Money Transfer Harasses Muslims