× Register Login What's New! Contact us
Results 1 to 2 of 2 visibility 2891

Food-Not so Glorious food

  1. #1
    Snowflake's Avatar Full Member
    brightness_1
    Assalamu alaykum
    star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Gender
    Female
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    7,449
    Threads
    216
    Rep Power
    157
    Rep Ratio
    86
    Likes Ratio
    16

    Food-Not so Glorious food

    Report bad ads?




    I've started this thread for the benefit of the ummah, so that we can avoid the consumption of haram foods as much as possible. Now that, there is more awareness and doubt as to what we are eating may not be halal, we should actively research all foodstuffs, instead of carrying on eating them, until someone else proves they are haram.

    For this reason, I hope each person takes it upon themselves to research foods, as I have done, and share their findings on this thread. A few minutes of your time, reading this post can prevent you and many others, from eating haram edibles.


    Take 'suitable for vegetarians' cheese for example. We've no reason to assume it's haram. Yet it could be. Surprised? yes, I was too.

    Potassium Nitrate (Saltpetre) - Preservative

    Saltpetre is usually assumed to be of natural origins but it can be artificially manufactured from waste animal matter. Potassium nitrate is often found in smoked type cheeses - so even if the cheese contains vegetable rennet and not animal rennet, it may contain potassium nitrate made from animal waste, so check with the cheese manufacturer to determine the source of the potassium nitrate.


    This goes to show that we cannot trust a product by it's label alone.

    Do you know what is used, to colour food red? Well, in general the colour used is derived from crushed beetles.

    Cochineal: Colour 120

    A colouring that makes many foods red. Found in alcoholic drinks, fruit pie fillings, jams, many sweets and even cheeses. Cochineal is made from the female insect found on cacti called Dactylopius Coccus. She is boiled alive or left to "cook" alive through sun exposure. Cochineal is the result of crushing scales of the insect into a red powder.

    The link below gives a complete list of haram/maybe haram additives, which are shown as E Numbers on food labels:

    http://www.veggieglobal.com/nutritio...-additives.htm

    Did you know that Fanta and a whole lot of other soft beverages contain fish gelatine? Not that fish is haram, but it just goes to show that foods can be hiding additives that, we can't even imagine are in there.

    http://www.vegetarian-gourmet.com/fishy_fanta.ht


    Just out of interest, you may want to see this too.

    Because of mastitis, blood, pus and bacteria from the infection are routinely pumped out with the milk (link below).


    http://www.satyamag.com/sept05/adams_cheese.html

    Gelatin

    Fish gelatin has a yellowish color while bovine gelatin remains clear. Gelatin has many applications, among them are the following: Pharmaceutical uses: Hard capsules (bloom 150-280), Soft capsules (bloom 125-200), Tablets (bloom 20-300), toothpaste, cosmetics, ointments, pastes, etc. Confectionery applications: Jellified items, gums, liquorice, marshmallows, meringues, aerated items, chewy fruit candies, fillings, toffees, packaged cake mixes, etc. (bloom of 75-250. Milk products: Ice cream, whipped creams, puddings, bakery creams, desert creams, water ices, cheese based products, yogurts & yogurt based products, jams, jellies, preserves, fruit juices, etc. Gelatin is used a bonding agent, to bond the free water in the product to the other ingredients.

    Of course, some gelatin is halal, but we won't know unless we ask the manufacturers of it's source.

    Fast Food

    Burger Kings does not endorse that the Milk Shakes are suitable for vegans or vegetarians, so you may want to be careful about this.

    The French fries used to contain natural flavorings derived from meat product. This has since been removed.

    http://www.vegetarian-restaurants.ne...urger-King.htm

    Well, InshaAllah, I hope that, this information is sufficient to make everyone sit up and take notice of what they are consuming.





    It seems that, it's not just food we have to watch out for.


    Some more things to watch out for:

    Hot Chips/French Fries

    Even though many shops, cafes and restaurants are now cooking their hot chips in vegetable oil, the chips are usually pre-cooked in tallow (animal fat) by the manufacturer. Ask the shop assistant/waiter to check the labelling on the box.

    ADRENALINE


    From the adrenals of hogs, cattle and sheep. In medicines. Alternatives: synthetics


    ALLANTOIN A

    uric acid from cows, most mammals. Also in many plants (especially comfrey). In cosmetics, Especially creams & lotions, and used in the treatment of wounds and skin ulcers.


    AMBERGRIS

    From sperm whale intestines. Used as a fixative in perfumes and as a flavoring in foods and beverages. (Federal regulation currently prohibit the use of ingredients derived from marine mammals.) Alternatives: synthetic and vegetable fixatives.


    AMINO ACIDS

    Animal or plant sources. In cosmetics, vitamins, supplements, shampoos, etc.


    ARACHIDONIC ACID A

    Liquid unsaturated fatty acid occurring in the liver, brain, glands, and fat of animals. Generally isolated from the liver. In skin creams and lotions to soothe eczema and rashes.


    ASPARTIC ACID DL and L forms

    Aminosuccinate Acid. Can be animal or plant (e.g. Molasses) source. In Creams and ointments. Sometimes synthesized for commercial purposes.


    BENZOIC ACID

    In almost all vertebrates and in berries. In mouthwashes, deodorants, creams, aftershave lotions, perfumes, foods, beverages. Alternatives: gum benzoin (tincture) from the aromatic balsamic resin from trees grown in china, Sumatra, Thailand and Cambodia.


    BOAR BRISTLES (PIG)

    Hair from wild or captive hogs. In "natural" toothbrushes, hairbrushes, bath brushes, cosmetic brushes and shaving brushes. Alternatives: vegetable fibers, nylon.


    BONE ASH

    Bone earth. The ash of burned bones, used as a fertilizer, in making ceramics and in cleaning and polishing compounds. (Whao! Our dishes/ovenware, could be made of burnt pig bones).


    BONEBLACK

    Bone charcoal. A black pigment containing about 10% charcoal made by roasting bones in an airtight container. Used in aquarium filters and in refining cane sugar. In eye shadows, polishes.


    BONE MEAL

    Animal bones. In some fertilizers, some vitamins and supplements as a source of calcium, toothpastes. Alternatives: plant mulch, vegetable compost, dolomite, clay, vegetarian vitamins.


    CAROTENE

    Provitamin A. Beta Carotene. Found in many animal tissues and in all plants. Used as a coloring in cosmetics and in the manufacture of Vitamin A.


    CETYL ALCOHOL

    Cetyl Lactate. Cetyl Myristate. Cetyl Palmitate. Ceteth-1, 02, etc. Wax found in spermaceti (see) from sperm whales or dolphins. Used in lipsticks, mascaras, nail polish removers, hand lotions, cream roughs and many other cosmetics, shampoos, hair lacquers and other hair products, deodorants, antiperspirants (Federal regulations currently prohibit the use of ingredients derived from marine mammals.) Alternatives: vegetable cetyl alcohol (e.g., coconut) synthetic spermaceti.


    CHOLESTERIN

    Cholesterol. A steroid alcohol, especially in all animal fats and oils, nerve tissue, egg yolk and blood. Can be derived from lanolin (see). In cosmetics, eye creams, shampoos, etc. Alternatives: plant sources, synthetics.


    CIVET

    Obtained from the civet, a small mammal, by stimulating it, usually through torture. Civets are kept captive in cages in horrible conditions. Used in perfumes as a fixative.


    COLLAGEN

    A fibrous protein in vertebrates. Usually derived from animal tissue. In cosmetics. Can't affect the skin's own collagen. Alternatives: soy protein, almond oil, amla oil (from Indian tree's fruit).


    CORTISONE

    Cortico Steroid. Hormone from cattle liver. Widely used in medicine. Alternatives: synthetics.


    CYSTEINE, L-Form. CYSTINE

    Two amino acids which can come from animals. Used in hair products and creams, in some bakery products and wound healing formulations. Alternatives: Plant sources.



    Halal is a Quranic term which means allowed or lawful. Halal foods and drinks are permitted for consumption by Allah-the Supreme Law Giver. Eating Halal is obligatory on every Muslim.


    Haram: Haram is a Quranic term which means prohibited or unlawful. Haram foods and drinks are absolutely prohibited by Allah. Eating Haram is forbidden for every Muslim.


    Mushbooh is an Arabic term which means suspected. If one does not know the Halal or Harm status of a particular food or drink, such a food or drink is doubtful. A practicing Muslims prevents himself from consuming doubtful things.

    Prophet(s) Muhammad is reported to have said:

    "Halal is clear and Haram is clear; in between these two are certain things that are suspected. Many people may not know whether those items are Halal or Haram. Whosoever leaves them, he is innocent towards his religion and his conscience. He is, therefore, safe. Anyone who gets involved in any of these suspected items, he may fall into the unlawful and the prohibited. This case is similar to the one who wished to raise his animals too close to a restricted area, so that the animals may step into that area. Indeed for every landlord there is a restricted area. Indeed the restriction of Allah are the Haram." (Sahih Bukhari & Sahih Muslim)
    Last edited by Halima; 01-24-2006 at 09:32 PM.
    chat Quote

  2. Report bad ads?
  3. #2
    Snowflake's Avatar Full Member
    brightness_1
    Assalamu alaykum
    star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Gender
    Female
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    7,449
    Threads
    216
    Rep Power
    157
    Rep Ratio
    86
    Likes Ratio
    16

    Re: Food-Not so Glorious food



    ARE WE EATING FOOD GROWN WITH PIG FERTILISER?

    *Food scares, health concerns, pesticide problems, environmental worries and animal welfare issues have brought farming methods into the spotlight. Most farmers are dependent on chemicals and animal by-products – and even those specialising in organic farming use animal manures and slaughterhouse by-products.

    *Manure is a complete fertilizer, but low in the amount of nutrients it supplies. Manures vary in nutrient content according to the animal source and what the animal has been eating. A fertilizer ratio of 1-1-1 is typical. Commonly available manures include horse, cow, pig, chicken and sheep.

    *This highlights a dilemma faced by most vegans all over the world: we don’t want to consume animal derived food but the fact is that animal manures and slaughterhouse by products are used extensively to grow our groceries – especially if we buy ‘organic.'

    Source: various sites
    chat Quote


  4. Hide
Hey there! Food-Not so Glorious food Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, we remember exactly what you've read, so you always come right back where you left off. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and share your thoughts. Food-Not so Glorious food
Sign Up

Similar Threads

  1. A new way to see food - Food Matters
    By Periwinkle18 in forum Health & Science
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-22-2012, 06:04 PM
  2. Food, Food, Food & Pork
    By Nate in forum New Muslims
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 03-05-2012, 10:22 PM
  3. Food wastage - eating only part of the food
    By Amoeba in forum General
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 11-16-2010, 02:08 PM
  4. Food!
    By Christian_dove in forum Health & Science
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-13-2006, 01:31 PM
  5. food to eat ?!?!?! ;)
    By The Ruler in forum Education Issues
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-04-2006, 10:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
create