× Register Login What's New! Contact us
Results 1 to 19 of 19 visibility 1977
  1. #1
    Rabi Mansur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Western USA
    Gender
    Male
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    408
    Threads
    27
    Reputation
    4693
    Rep Power
    71
    Likes (Given)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    2

    What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    Report bad ads?



    Just wondering what others think of Rashad Khalifa. I've been reading his translation of the Quran (Quran: The Final Testament).

    I realize that he was a controversial figure, but would be interested in your thoughts regarding him.

    شكرا

  2. Report bad ads?
  3. #2
    YusufNoor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Albuquerque
    Gender
    Male
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    2,000
    Threads
    47
    Reputation
    27443
    Rep Power
    101
    Likes (Given)
    146
    Likes (Received)
    398

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    he's a kufar.
    What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    Had the non-believer known of all the Mercy which is in the Hands of Allah, he would not lose hope of entering Paradise, and had the believer known of all the punishment which is present with Allah, he would not consider himself safe from the Hell-Fire
    http://www.muftimenk.co.za/Downloads.html

  4. #3
    Ali_008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    In front of my laptop
    Gender
    Male
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    944
    Threads
    42
    Reputation
    9808
    Rep Power
    75
    Likes (Given)
    392
    Likes (Received)
    339

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?


    Never heard of him, sorry.
    What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    If Allah helps you, none can overcome you; and if He forsakes you, who is there after Him that can help you? And in Allah (Alone) let believers put their trust.
    Surah Ale Imran : 160

    It was narrated that Anas ibn Maalik (may Allaah be pleased with him) said:
    The Prophet (blessings and peace of Allaah be upon him) climbed up Uhud, accompanied by Abu Bakr, ‘Umar and ‘Uthmaan, and the mountain shook with them. He struck it with his foot and said: “Stand firm, O Uhud, for there is no one on you but a Prophet or a Siddeeq or two martyrs.”
    Narrated by al-Bukhaari (3483)

    Allah (Subhaanahu Wa Taala) does not inspire seeking forgiveness in a slave whom he wishes to punish.
    Ali (RadhiAllahu Anhu)

  5. #4
    جوري's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    من ارض الكنانة
    Gender
    Female
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    27,760
    Threads
    1260
    Reputation
    246640
    Rep Power
    238
    Likes (Given)
    5578
    Likes (Received)
    6290

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    he is the quran only guy.. he was executed I believe, but don't quote me on that, I don't want to google a kaffir, I hate to increase hits to kuffar sites..

    What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    Text without context is pretext
    If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him 44845203 1 - What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?


  6. Report bad ads?
  7. #5
    rpwelton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Gender
    Male
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    404
    Threads
    31
    Reputation
    3397
    Rep Power
    77
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    He had some whack theory that all the verses of the Qur'an fit into some formula he made except two, so he actually produced a "version" (a'uthubillah) of the Qur'an without those verses (I think they were in Surat at-Tauba). If memory serves me right, he was stabbed to death.

  8. #6
    جوري's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    من ارض الكنانة
    Gender
    Female
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    27,760
    Threads
    1260
    Reputation
    246640
    Rep Power
    238
    Likes (Given)
    5578
    Likes (Received)
    6290

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    Quote Originally Posted by rpwelton View Post
    He had some whack theory that all the verses of the Qur'an fit into some formula he made except two, so he actually produced a "version" (a'uthubillah) of the Qur'an without those verses (I think they were in Surat at-Tauba). If memory serves me right, he was stabbed to death.
    lol.. was the formula 3^16*+P/ Ω 78-90*1000 Σ Δ-x +W. ∏ = quran minus two verses?... what a quack and there is no loss for quacks in this world...
    What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    Text without context is pretext
    If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him 44845203 1 - What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?


  9. #7
    Rabi Mansur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Western USA
    Gender
    Male
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    408
    Threads
    27
    Reputation
    4693
    Rep Power
    71
    Likes (Given)
    10
    Likes (Received)
    2

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    I actually like his English translation. It is very readable and in some ways easier to understand than other translations I have seen...but... he sure has some strange ideas. His book is entertaining, however, there are some pretty odd things he has come up with that pretty much destroy his credibility.

    I guess what is the most crazy is where he presents himself as the messenger of the covenant through mathematical coding in the Quran. He lost me there.

    Oh well.

  10. #8
    CosmicPathos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    in the sea
    Gender
    Male
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    3,923
    Threads
    74
    Reputation
    24576
    Rep Power
    84
    Likes (Given)
    315
    Likes (Received)
    790

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    Rashad Khalifa heralds from an era where unfortunately some Muslims from the Ummah were trying hard to find "numerological" miracles in Quran. No wonder why he introduced his number 9 theory. Quran is a book par excellence which does not need petty senseless numerical miracles for establishing its authority. Why number 9? Why not 99? Why not 199? why not 199999? why not 0.9? Meh.

  11. #9
    Raaina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    UK
    Gender
    Female
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    660
    Threads
    22
    Reputation
    4738
    Rep Power
    72
    Likes (Given)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    11

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    I've never heard of him either. Why was he a kufar? Can you read his version of the Qu'ran online?

  12. Report bad ads?
  13. #10
    Insaanah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    Female
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    4,547
    Threads
    175
    Reputation
    153251
    Rep Power
    148
    Likes (Given)
    1169
    Likes (Received)
    3376

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?



    The Numerical Miracle of the Qur’aan
    The most famous proponent of this idea was Rashad Khalifa, an Egyptian biochemist educated in the United States. According to Dr. Khalifa, there is a miraculous numerical code to the Qur’aan based on its “first” verse (Bismillahir-Rahmaanir-Raheem), which consists of 19 letters. This miraculous code is supposedly referred to in verse 30 of Chapter 74 (al-Muddath-thir) which states “Over it are 19.” Based on these two premises, Dr. Rashad claims to have discovered an intricate mathematical pattern involving 19 and its multiples throughout the Qur’aan and especially in what he calls the Qur’aanic initials which precede 29 chapters (Alif, Laam, Meem, etc.). From this discovery, Dr. Khalifa concludes that the complexity of this mathematical code’s pattern in a literary work of the Qur’aan’s size is far beyond human capabilities, and that it alone constitutes the only real miracle of the Qur’aan which proves its divine origin. He further concludes that 19 and its multiples represent the key to the correct interpretation of the Qur’aan and Islam, and the reason why 19 was chosen is that 19 means “God is One,” which is the message of the Qur’aan.

    Many Muslims at first received Khalifa’s theories with uncritical enthusiasm. However, when more rigorous critics began checking his numbers, they found numerous discrepancies and some outright fabrications in his data. His claims were based on the number of times a given letter or word occurs in a given soorah or group of soorahs. It was discovered that he would sometimes treat hamzahs like alifs and sometimes he wouldn’t, depending on the totals he needed in a given soorah to confirm his theory. Sometimes he counted letters that weren’t there, sometimes he failed to count existing letters, sometimes he counted two words as one, sometimes he added to the Qur’aanic text and sometimes he deleted from it, all for the purpose of making the letter and word counts conform to his theory. On top of that, his letter counts changed over time, depending on whether he wanted to establish a pattern for a soorah by itself or as part of a group of soorahs. When confronted with inconsistencies in his data, he began claiming that certain verses had been inserted into the Qur’aan that did not belong there.

    After this clear statement of disbelief he went on to claim knowledge of the exact date of the Day of Judgment and eventually claimed prophethood for himself. He attracted a group of followers in Tucson, Arizona, but his career was cut short when he was stabbed to death by an unknown assailant in 1990.

    From Usool at-Tafseer: The Methodology of Qur'aanic Explanation by Dr Abu Ameenah Bilal Philips
    Link to the book: http://kalamullah.com/Books/Usool%20at-Tafseer.pdf

    Last edited by Insaanah; 12-16-2009 at 11:49 AM.

  14. #11
    Ali_008's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    In front of my laptop
    Gender
    Male
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    944
    Threads
    42
    Reputation
    9808
    Rep Power
    75
    Likes (Given)
    392
    Likes (Received)
    339

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    ^^ Does he still have any followers like those of mirza ghulam ahmed (the qadianis)??
    What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    If Allah helps you, none can overcome you; and if He forsakes you, who is there after Him that can help you? And in Allah (Alone) let believers put their trust.
    Surah Ale Imran : 160

    It was narrated that Anas ibn Maalik (may Allaah be pleased with him) said:
    The Prophet (blessings and peace of Allaah be upon him) climbed up Uhud, accompanied by Abu Bakr, ‘Umar and ‘Uthmaan, and the mountain shook with them. He struck it with his foot and said: “Stand firm, O Uhud, for there is no one on you but a Prophet or a Siddeeq or two martyrs.”
    Narrated by al-Bukhaari (3483)

    Allah (Subhaanahu Wa Taala) does not inspire seeking forgiveness in a slave whom he wishes to punish.
    Ali (RadhiAllahu Anhu)

  15. #12
    Raaina's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    UK
    Gender
    Female
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    660
    Threads
    22
    Reputation
    4738
    Rep Power
    72
    Likes (Given)
    9
    Likes (Received)
    11

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    Wow, that was really interesting to read Insane Insaan

    I guess thats simular to the bible code then? When they said the bible has hidden messages and predicted the war and 9/11 before it happend.

  16. #13
    brotherubaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Dubai
    Gender
    Male
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    621
    Threads
    43
    Reputation
    8200
    Rep Power
    75
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    4

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    Brothers and sisters stay away from this guy and even HIS TRANSLATION

    why??

    Coz how do u know that he is translating it word for word or right way

    I have come across translations in urdu n other languages where WORDS WERE ADDED TO THE VERSE which CHANGED THE WHOLE MEANING OF THE AYAH!!

    So when u are reading the translation n u obviously dont know arabic how can u be sure its RIGHT?

    And when it has been made apparent to u that the guy is a FREAK why would u even bother to read his translation.

    He was a calamiy to the Ummah

    And i would like to mention another important thing

    People need to stop looking for signs n miracles and specially numerical miracles in The Quran like number 19 and all and even scientific , coz science can change , for example we have a surah in quran by the name of Al hadid , The Iron , and some one was trying to prove that something in the surah was 26 or adding something and something will give u 26 and the atomic number for iron is also 26. These type of things should be avoided coz lets say for instance , a 100 years from now some how its proved that its not 26 it 28, Then what will happen???? Wouldnt it mena that Quran was wrong naouzobillah.

    Wht we need to take from that surah about Iron is what Allah tells us in it about Iron Himself He says

    Indeed We have sent Our Messengers with clear proofs, and revealed with them the Scripture and the Balance (justice) that mankind may keep up justice. And We brought forth iron wherein is mighty power as well as many benefits for mankind


    Whats the first verses in the Quran brothers n sisters

    Surah al baqarah

    Alif-Lâm-Mîm

    2. This is the Book (the Qur'ân), whereof there is no doubt, a guidance to those who are Al-Muttaqûn [the pious and righteous persons who fear Allâh much ]
    3. Who believe in the Ghaib [ Unseen] and perform As-Salât (Iqâmat-as-Salât), [] and spend out of what we have provided for them [i.e. give Zakât [], spend on themselves, their parents, their children, their wives, etc., and also give charity ]


    This is the SIFFAH of Muslims , we believe in the Unseen , we know Quran is the word of Allah , the last revelation , yes there are manyscientific facts that quran told us like 1500 years ago which cience has uncovered now , but one should not get into making something out of something , adding numbers and drawing conclusions. Coz ur mathematics can be proved wrong and it will with it prove the quran to be wrong and u will look very stupid and make the whole Ummah look very stupid so be careful and Allahul Mustaan.

    As far as the guy discussed , STAY AWAY FROM HIM AND HIS WORKS , its peole with no knoweldge of the deen that come up with crazy stuff which leads to notthing , rather if they sticked to knowledge , of arabic language , quran , hadeeth , fiqh , aqeedah n all it would have been much better for them.
    Last edited by brotherubaid; 12-18-2009 at 06:04 PM.
    What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    079186 1 - What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?
    How perfect You are O Allaah, and I praise You. I bear witness that none has the right to be worshipped except You. I seek Your forgiveness and turn to You in repentance

  17. #14
    Argamemnon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Gender
    Male
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    1,150
    Threads
    98
    Reputation
    5196
    Rep Power
    77
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    2

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    Didn't he reject two verses for the sake of his "19" code? He also argued that he is a messenger or prophet I think. It's not even worth mentioning this person in my opinion.
    Last edited by Argamemnon; 12-18-2009 at 08:19 PM.

  18. Report bad ads?
  19. #15
    Muhammad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    on a Journey...
    Gender
    Male
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    9,055
    Threads
    205
    Reputation
    121402
    Rep Power
    165
    Likes (Given)
    464
    Likes (Received)
    3165

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?



    For a moment there I thought you were asking about our Head Admin, until I saw the rest of the title!
    What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?




  20. #16
    Ar-RaYYan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    West Midlands, UK
    Gender
    Female
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    920
    Threads
    19
    Reputation
    5993
    Rep Power
    88
    Likes (Given)
    85
    Likes (Received)
    36

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    ^ SNAP! and i thought he was the OP waiting to know our opinion of him.

  21. #17
    Woodrow's Avatar
    Woodrow is offline
    May Allah have mercy on him رحمة الله عليه

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Grant County, Minnesota
    Gender
    Male
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    17,217
    Threads
    244
    Reputation
    163077
    Rep Power
    187
    Likes (Given)
    177
    Likes (Received)
    698

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    I see him as a very strange cultist. Was an Egyptian/American Biochemist, decided he could improve on Islam and rewrote the Qur'an. A semi-educated idiot that wanted to found a religion based on his own ideas.
    What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    Herman 1 - What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?


  22. #18
    o_ahmad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    32
    Threads
    1
    Reputation
    102
    Rep Power
    66
    Likes (Given)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    [QUOTE=o_ahmad;1456081]My opinion is that he is non-nonsensical.

    I meant to say "nonsensical" not "non-nonsensical".[/COLOR]

  23. #19
    o_ahmad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Gender
    Male
    Religion
    Islam
    Posts
    32
    Threads
    1
    Reputation
    102
    Rep Power
    66
    Likes (Given)
    2
    Likes (Received)
    0

    Re: What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?

    Oh yeah, and I also think he is ugly.


  24. Hide
Hey there! What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa? Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, we remember exactly what you've read, so you always come right back where you left off. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and share your thoughts. What is your opinion of Rashad Khalifa?
Sign Up

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-05-2011, 08:31 AM
  2. Welcome bro Rashad
    By Yanal in forum Introduce Yourself
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 10-24-2009, 03:01 AM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-15-2007, 08:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
create