/* */

PDA

View Full Version : The 10 Commandments: A Refutation of the Claimed Absurdity

AntiKarateKid
02-03-2008, 07:27 PM
Hey! I am reading about "moral reasoning" in my philosophy class and my instructor claims that the commandment, Thou shall not kill is absurd. I get points in class for debating so I am going to try and counter this claim of his.

You can't say that that commandment is absurd because at the time it was generally known that killing in self defense was allowed. No sensible person would question killing in self defense. The problem then was the act of senseless killing. Killing for no reason other than gain or perverse pleasures. Thus Good sent this commandment to the Jews at the time to set this measure against them.

Is there anything wrong with my logic? I am new to debating in class.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
anatolian
02-03-2008, 07:40 PM
Did he/she say why found it absurd?

wilberhum
02-03-2008, 08:00 PM
The professor is correct "Thou shall not kill is absurd".

As you have pointed out, there are exceptions yet the law does not allow for exceptions.

snakelegs
02-03-2008, 09:03 PM
in hebrew, it is "thou shalt not murder"

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
AntiKarateKid
02-03-2008, 09:41 PM
Is that really true Snakelegs?? HA! Then that solve this debate.

Murder: kill intentionally and with premeditation

Therefore the commandment is NOT absurd. Bah translations really confuzzle people eh?

Trumble
02-03-2008, 10:06 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by AntiKarateKid