/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Legitimacy of fiqh website?

çiçek
02-05-2008, 04:20 PM
:sl:
brothers and sisters,

As a new Muslim convert, I've noticed there are a buch of fatwa/advice websites on the internet. How do you tell which ones are legitimate (i.e. actually have authority to offer such advice)? :?

Salaam,

N-

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
UmmSqueakster
02-05-2008, 08:43 PM
wa alaikum assalam,

It's definately a difficult thing to figure out. Some websites base their rulings on the precidents of madhabs, schools of thought, that developed over the centuries. Others base their rulings soley on the Qur'an and the sunnah of the Prophet (saws), without taking into account how the madhabs have interpreted these sources. The posters on this website tend towards the later group.

As a newbie, I'd recommend IslamOnline, because it finds a balance between the different sources. Oftentimes, their rulings will present the different points of view.

Umar001
02-13-2008, 08:42 PM
Wa Alaykum Salam Wa Rhametullahi Wa Berekatu,

The most important way is to ask Allah for guidance and that He helps you in making the correct moves.

I personally use this sometimes:

http://www.islam-qa.com/index.php?ln=eng

Skillganon
02-14-2008, 09:02 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by Al Habeshi
I personally use this sometimes:

http://www.islam-qa.com/index.php?ln=eng
Salaam

Even Islamonline uses that site bro :D

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Umar001
02-14-2008, 09:12 PM
Wa Alaykum Salam Wa Rahmetullah Bro,

Yep, I've notice they use some answers from there Alhamdulillah.

Anisa19
02-14-2008, 10:17 PM
I use IslamToday, Islamqa, Fatwaonline, Fatwaislam, IslamWeb.