/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Questions about the Qu'ran

quirk
03-02-2008, 10:10 PM
I have just began to read the Qu'ran and intend to read it all over the coming weeks. Already I have several questions and I hope that those on this forum may be able to help me with them. I apologise if some of what I ask seems very basic but I am relatively new to this. I will try to present my questions Surah by Surah as I read through. I intend to convert to Islam in the near future however I think that I should read the Qu'ran first.

Suarah Al-Baqara (The Cow)

[2.7] Allah has set a seal upon their hearts and upon their hearing and there is a covering over their eyes, and there is a great punishment for them.
My question in relation to this particular verse is if Allah set a seal upon their hearts then as Allah is all powerful nothing they do can remove this seal, therfore why punish them for something which they are unable to change?

[2.23] And if you are in doubt as to that which We have revealed to Our servant, then produce a chapter like it and call on your witnesses besides Allah if you are truthful.
Who is "we" in the above verse?

[2.185] The month of Ramazan is that in which the Quran was revealed, a guidance to men and clear proofs of the guidance and the distinction; therefore whoever of you is present in the month, he shall fast therein, and whoever is sick or upon a journey, then (he shall fast) a (like) number of other days; Allah desires ease for you, and He does not desire for you difficulty, and (He desires) that you should complete the number and that you should exalt the greatness of Allah for His having guided you and that you may give thanks.