/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Protection Vest

Fadly
07-02-2008, 04:38 AM
Assalamualeikum fellow brothers. I have one question that have been nagging me for quite sometime now. you see, i'm a soldier. I was equipped with a some equipments to do my job. one of those were a protection vest. i've been wearing it for as long as my military service. but until recently, i've never bothered to find out more about the vest. recently, i've been googling information about my Protection vest. one thing that i found out is that, my protection vest are of multilayerd design. one of the layer are made of pure silk. now it's not permissible for Muslim male to wear silk. but in my line of job, i need those vest for safety reason. anyone here can help me unravelled this?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
MustafaMc
07-03-2008, 02:53 AM
Could the prohibition against men wearing silk and gold be related to Muslims not being ostentatious and not pretentiously showing off wealth? Silk is a very fine yet extremely strong fiber. The intention in your case is to capture this property of silk in the vest for protection not the property of being shiny and smooth to the touch. And Allah knows best.

Muhammad
07-03-2008, 10:37 AM
:sl:

It is important to ask your question to a knowledgeable person for your specific situation, as there is nobody qualified to give a fatwa on the forum. You might find these two links from a fatwa site useful, but for further information I would suggest asking someone knowledgeable (such as an Imaam) Insha'Allaah.

Why are men not allowed to wear silk?

Wearing silk or part-silk

S1aveofA11ah
07-03-2008, 06:15 PM
Asalaamualaikum