/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Help with an assignment.

bjc22
05-26-2009, 06:44 PM
Hello. I am a religious studies student and I have an assignment that I could use some help with. Basically I have to take a picture of anything with religious implications and describe it in 1500 words. Its slightly more complicated than that but that is the short version. I'm not a Muslim but my roommate is so I decided to take a picture of his prayer mat. Unfortunately for me he knows little about his faith so he isn't of much help. I don't trust internet sources, and part of the assignment is getting first hand insight from members of the faith, which in this case is Islam.

I would appreciate if i could get different explanations about what the point of a prayer mat is, what it means to you as a Muslim, and its religious implications. From the little i know it is to make sure the surface on which prayer is done is "ritually" pure. But i doubt i can write 1500 words about that. It is due tomorrow morning and I foolishly left it until the last minute. Your input is priceless to me right now. Thank you.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
- Qatada -
05-26-2009, 09:49 PM
Hi :)

I think you should talk about another topic on Islam, maybe to do with our belief in God being One? With Him being the Creator, Sustainer, the giver of Life and death and bringing the dead back to life again? How we believe that He is the only One who is the law maker and sender of guidance to send mankind on the right way, so He sends Messengers' to call to this truth to guide people to good. They warn the people of Judgment Day where every person will be asked about what he did in this life, and they will be responsible for their ownself only. If they believed in God's Messengers, and did good - they will be rewarded in Paradise, and if they disobeyed and rejected Gods messengers and did evil - they will be punished for their own sins.