/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Some career tips?

anonymous
11-12-2009, 04:33 PM
:sl:

I'm about to finish my 2 year degree at a community college for "network specialization" and was looking for some advice as far as getting my foot in the door so to speak.

I don't have any hands on experience as everything taught in the classrooms are all computer based, which isn't very helpful to be honest. I was looking at maybe trying out for an internship but, since times are tough as they say, no one around here is offering any internship positions. I was looking through job sites such as careerbuilder and noticed most networking positions require 2-4 years of school, which would be good for me but, I have no experience. I would imagine this hurting my chances of getting hired vs someone else with previous experience. I would like to start working within this field so everything I learned stays in my head :hiding:

For people who have been in this type of situation before, doesn't have to necessarily be networking, how did you eventually get a start on your career?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
seekingsolace
11-20-2009, 02:31 AM
My late husband was in the IT field but started out in political science (don't ask! hehehe)

He started out by working in help desk/technical support, moving from first level to third level and eventually shifting over to network design and security as he proved his mettle.

You might want to try doing some volunteer work for local charities and non-profits. With the economy down, donations are down too, so they probably don't have the money to pay someone to build/fix/tweak their networks. It would give you something to put on your resume if nothing else.

muslimah_81
11-20-2009, 02:47 AM
Salaams

I started by studying for a MCSE. I didnt have a degree in anything. I only studied I.T in college.

When I had a couple of MCP's I got a job doing helpdesk. I was only answering calls and logging them.