/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Visiting my parents

Amanda
12-22-2009, 03:46 AM
Assalamu alaikum,

I've been Muslim for a year now, but I'm still learning and hope that people here can help me a bit.

I live in Indonesia with my husband, and we are planning a trip to Canada for him to meet my parents for the first time. The one thing that is causing us some stress is the fact that my parents have a large dog. I've tried researching this, but there are just so many different 'rulings' out there and I don't know what to believe.

We don't have enough money to stay in a hotel for the three weeks we would be in Canada, and my parents would be really hurt if we did that. They understand that we are Muslim, and that my husband is very uncomfortable around dogs since he grew up thinking of them as dirty. But, it is not possible for them to make the dog stay outside for three weeks, or to send it away. The dog doesn't lick people, but of course he will want to smell us, and will seek attention from us. How do I explain this to my husband, and what advice should I give him to deal with it? I've read differing opinions, from it's okay as long as you don't touch the saliva, to you just have to wash your hands, to you have to make wudhu after touching the dog and/or saliva, to our prayers won't be accepted if we pray in a house where a dog lives. Let me also add that my parents live in a *very* small town, and the nearest mosque would be about 2 hours away so it isn't going to be possible for us to just pray in the mosque.

Please help me! But I don't need anyone to post saying Muslims can't have dogs, or we just can't touch them, etc (I already am aware of that). I just need help dealing with the situation please, since it's not in my power to change it. Thanks.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Rafeeq
12-22-2009, 04:12 AM