/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Question about dating/ marriage in Islam

LauraLee
07-24-2010, 07:03 PM
Hello, any input would be greatly appreciated on this matter.

I am a non-muslim, but have been told the following two and would like to understand if this is accurate.

1) That one can "date" another if he claims her to be his wife in his heart even though a ceremony has not happened.

2) That a wife will love her husband and treat him with respect even if he tells her he no longer loves her and she should not leave.

I am just learning about Islam, but to me the first one seems very wrong as it leads to the possibility of sin. Isn't there a statement that if two are in the room there is a third (Saytaan) even if this is just over the phone/internet?

Please can someone clarify? I would greatly appreciate it.

I just want to make sure I am getting the correct information when learning about Islam.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Muslim Woman
07-26-2010, 01:59 PM
Salaam/Peace

Sis , welcome to the forum.

The first statement is totally ' false ' . God warned in holy Quran :
Don't come near to adultery ( chapter light ) .

So , as it's easily understandable - ' dating ' is a way that may lead one to commit one of the most major sins. Prophet pbuh warned that u already mentioned: when a man and a women stay together in private , third person comes and that's the devil.

If a husband does not love wife and mistreates her , then she has a right to go to judge and asks for end of the married life. Divorce is not encouraged in Islam but allowed when necessary. Among all lawful matters , God dislikes divorce . So , both wife and husband must be careful about that .

Thanks for ur interest about Islam .

Salahudeen
07-26-2010, 04:24 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by LauraLee
Hello, any input would be greatly appreciated on this matter.

I am a non-muslim, but have been told the following two and would like to understand if this is accurate.