/* */

PDA

View Full Version : SCORE: Horses-100 Woodrow-0

Woodrow
10-20-2010, 10:32 AM
Just want to post a somewhat humorous anecdote about my past week. As some already know I have been busy moving my horses to their winter home. While I do have considerable experience with full size horses I am a bit of a newbie with miniatures. Last year we began adding mini's to our stock. I can not believe how strong those little rascals are. This story is about my battle with moving 3 from Bismarck to pasturage in Zeeland.

The cast of Characters:

Reflections - a Tovero Stallion

and the Mares:

Precious Delight-a Sabino Overo Mare

Sugar Bay-Full Sister to Precious looks identical but does not have the white blaze on her face, no picture of her yet

To keep the minis from being hurt by the full size horses I spent the day Saturday building a separate pen for the mares 600 feet on each side, two rows of Braided electric fence rope:

Total of 4,800 feet electric rope, plus fiber glass fence posts every 20 feet (120 posts) and a 50,000 volt Fi-Shock Fence Charger.

Sunday went to Bismarck to get the mares, they did not want to go in the trailer. Discovered then how strong these little rascals are. Got dragged several hundred feet by Precious after I managed to get a rope on her. Got pretty well kicked and stomped on by Sugar and gave up trying to get a rope on her. After 8 hours of fighting with them I gave up.

Fifteen minutes later the little munchkins got nosey and walked into the trailer by themselves.

Monday I put them in their new pen. They decided they wanted to be with the big horses and ran full gallop into my fencing, dragging all the fence rope, about 60 of the posts and the fence charger out into the large pasture. They are getting along fine with the big horses except a few of the big horses seem to be scared of them.