/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Music

maryambintjared
05-02-2011, 11:05 PM
I just read something in another forum (to which I don't yet have posting priveleges) a post which seemed to suggest that music is forbidden in Islam.

I'm a classically trained musician, and music is a huge part of my life, both singing and performing stringed instruments and piano, organ, etc.

While I have accepted happily that some music will no longer feature in my life (I can't in all conscience sing baroque music in honour of the Virgin Mary, and I told my choir about this) I am devastated at the idea that I won't be able to play or listen to Mozart, or Bach, or Beethoven, or Listz...

Have I misunderstood? Is music really forbidden, or have I completely misunderstood? I had a wonderful conversation on Saturday with my musical instructer about Islam, and she was so open and sympathetic. If she were to become Muslim, would she really, after seventy years as a musician, have to give up a skill that Allah gave to her in the first place?

I do understand that Allah may require people to give up idols, and music can certainly be an idol for some. If He demanded that I give up music, I would do so... but is this really what He's asking? Music has always been a release for me, not the focus of my worship, but an area in which my mind can be released from anxiety, and skills allowed to roam.

Please someone explain to me what I should do?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
al yunan
05-03-2011, 01:04 AM
Salam sister maryambintjared,
Should you continue with your quest for an answer, be prepared for hours and hours of pro and con evidence.
My advice to you is to perform Salatul Istigharah and ask Allah S.W.T what you should do.
This subject has and will always be contraversial. Save yourself the emotional stress and ask Allah S.W.T directly and thus you will be satisfied and act with Yakin to whatever your answer may be.