/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Fasting with Fibromyalgia

abbey
07-22-2012, 10:40 PM
Asalamualakum

I have recently been diagnosed with Fibromyalgia in March 2012. I am 23 years old and am particularly healthy. I am a pre nursing student part time and work 30 hours a week in a fast paced, strenuous restaurant as a server. I have not had many previous symptoms in the past pointing to Fibromyalgia other then a mental fog which is also called "Fibrofog" which would disturb my ability to concentrate within school/work. Month's leading up to my diagnosis in March, I begun having severe mental fog and confusion, sharp nerve pain, muscle weakness, and fatigue. In medical science there is no "cure" for fibromyalgia, but I do not believe this. So I have chosen to include a variety of vitamins and supplements to help my fibromyalgia symptoms as well as dua's to ask Allah for his mercy in dealing with this condition. The supplements have helped somewhat to tone down the intensity of my pain, but my mental fog is still so severe at times, I find it almost impossible to concentrate or function during work and school.

As Ramadan has begun, I have been able to fast 2/3 of the days so far. The day that I have worked, my fast was broken early because I found it very difficult to function with my symptoms. I am trying to seek out anyone who has any recommendations with fibromyalgia and fasting. I am not sure if fasting with fibromyalgia will make my condition worse...or if I burden the pain and ask Allah for his mercy and help that perhaps fasting could be beneficial to healing this fibromyalgia from my body.
Inshallah this will be something that will not be a burden to me in the future and I will be able to rid it from my body. Please if you have any knowledgeable input regarding this it would be appreciated.