/* */

PDA

View Full Version : living your dreams

Muhaba
02-21-2013, 04:07 PM
The following seems like a nice article, from Sisters Magazine http://naimabrobert.co.uk/articles/live-your-dream/
SISTERS Editorial October 2012:

Bismillah
As a young woman growing up, I had fairly typical suburban dreams: go to university, get a good job, meet a nice guy, get married, have kids (a boy and two girls) and bring them up with the help of a nanny in a big house with a garden and a pool. My dreams were mainstream, ‘me-focused’ and totally within my reach – or so I thought.

Islam came into my life in my second year of university and, with it, a change of plans. The description of the ‘nice guy’ changed, the house didn’t seem so important and the number of children increased. My dreams as a Muslim were shaped by what I read, by those around me who were on the same path as me.

I graduated from university as a Muslim, married, wearing jilbab and niqab, living in a one-bedroom flat. The dreams of my pre-Islamic self seemed, literally, a lifetime away. With a new focus on living an Islamic life and seeking the pleasure of Allah swt, my other ambitions fell by the wayside. I downsized my dreams.

In a way, this was an important step, a necessary shift in focus, from the life of this world to the Hereafter. Everyone who comes to Islam, whether as a revert or a returnee, must make this choice. For some reason, though, I thought that was the end of it, that dreams of achieving great things were no longer my prerogative.

Until I heard a da’ee say those unforgettable words: ‘Establish something great for Islam.’