/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Advice about studying at university in European country

tearose
02-26-2013, 08:20 PM
As-salamu 3laikum,
I want to ask if anyone can give advice in sha Allah abouthow to get through studying at a university in a Western country. Especially,but not only, from brothers and sisters who have studied in one of thesecountries. What do you do if the teachers talk about haram things, or kufr, orshirk, or things that you’re not sure exactly what they mean by it, but itdoesn’t seem right from an Islamic perspective. What if you have to study thesematerials involving these things? I’m not asking for opinions as such, as Ialready asked an imam. I just need some advice on how to deal with it in apractical, day-to-day sense.
Sometimes we have the opportunity to debate with teachersand classmates, other times you’re expected to work on things withoutcommenting on their content. To give you some back ground on my particularsituation, I’m studying languages and translation, so we have to look atvarious texts, but sometimes only from the linguistic point of view withoutcommenting on the content.
To give you a few examples:
1) To give us an example of the difference between a summaryand another type of account, the teacher handed us out an example text to readat home. It was about someone on a holiday/experience imagining things fromGreek mythology. I didn’t keep it; I threw it away. Now I wonder whether Ishould tell the teacher that I could not use the text, as otherwise, she mightthink I approve of it and that seems wrong to me – aren’t we supposed to pointout things that are wrong?
What if we have to work on a text like that in class? ShouldI leave the classroom and come back when they moved on to something else? I wastold by an imam it is ok as long as you have your own belief in your heart –but personally I find it very upsetting so it’s hard for me to stay.