/* */

PDA

View Full Version : What translation do you consider the best?

Snow
09-06-2014, 12:46 AM
I'm new to Islam and I am wondering what you consider the best English translation for the newcomers.

What I have access to are these:

1 "The Noble Quran has been translated into the modern English Language by
Dr. Muhammad Taqi-ud-Din Al-Hilali, Ph.D. & Dr. Muhammad Muhsin Khan"

2 "
Saheeh International Qur'an"

3 I just ordered the annotated translation by Ali Unal.

About the first one I mention: I do not stutter but reading it makes me feel like people with stutter describe it. So many footnotes and the text does not seem to flow.

Saheeh International is really straight forwards. Perhaps too much so, for newcomers.

I still have not received the Ali Unal version, but it seems to get great reviews.

What are your favorites?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Insaanah
09-06-2014, 07:39 PM
Assalaamu alaikum Snow, and welcome to the forum, and of course, welcome to Islam.

I don't think there is a best translation, but there are ones better than others. Everyone will have their own favourites. It's best to read more than one, so you can see the same thing phrased in different ways, where it might strike a chord more in one translation than another.

At websites like quran.com, you can click on a surah, then on the left, click the translations you wish to see, and then read each verse with four or five translations, to help you get a feel for it. I like looking at Saheeh International, The Noble Qur'an and Pickthall together.

If I had to recommend one, it'd be Saheeh International, because the English isn't archaic, yet is still very close to the word by word the meaning of the Arabic, and without being too flowery. Also, Saheeh International are known for not having any leanings one way or the other, and their translation is reliable one.