/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Is it halal to charge a fine for late payment?

Intahnet
10-27-2015, 09:30 PM
Asalamualikum,

I am an IT contractor working through my own limited company here in the UK.

I worked for a full month for a client in September, and legally the client has 30 days from the invoice date to pay me.
According to UK law, if they do not pay me within 30 days, I am allowed to charge them interest, or charge them a penalty late fee.

Obviously interest/riba is haram, and I won't do this, but is a penalty fine haram?

I have read IslamQA answer number 5248 (I can't post links yet) but I am a bit confused by it.

I have done the work for a month, and I'm certain the agency is not going through any financial difficulty or anything like that, in fact they have already received the payment from the end client. I have notified them quite a few times, and will be giving them a few more days before seeking legal advice, but from the Islamic perspective they have delayed my payment, which naturally adds difficulty on me, so can I not fine them as a deterrent from doing this again? I still have another 5 months remaining on my contract, and if they do this for every payment, it will be very frustrating for me.

Would it still be considered riba and so be haram in this case?

I'm not really fussed about the actual penalty fine money, it just seems a good way to serve as a small deterrent to show that they need to honour our contract terms and not delay my payments.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Scimitar
10-27-2015, 09:49 PM
Very good question, I would also like to know the answer to this.

Scimi

brotherabdullah
10-28-2015, 03:35 AM
As Salaam Alaikum Brother,
I currently work in office where my bosses are Muslim and they do charge late payments.
However, I did some research on this and ran across this example that may explain whether or not it is haram to charge a late fee: