/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Wine in the Qur'an

eiliyah_faith
05-26-2016, 08:38 PM
Good evening,

I was talking to some non Muslim friends today about Islam. The subject started on Hijab and then moved onto various different subjects. Somebody asked that if alcohol is haraam, then why is there a never ending flow of wine in Paradise. This question stumped me, as I am new to Islam, I wasn't aware of the following passage;

"The description of Paradise which the Muttaqun have been promised is that in it are rivers of water the taste and smell of which are not changed; rivers of milk of which the taste never changes; rivers of wine delicious to those who drink; and rivers of clarified honey (clear and pure) therein for them is every kind of fruit; and forgiveness from their Lord. (Are these) like those who shall dwell for ever in the Fire, and be given, to drink, boiling water, so that it cuts up their bowels?*Sura 47:15"

I'be done some research on this subject, as I couldn't understand why wine would be promised, knowing it is haraam.

So, the following explanations have been made and I want to ensure that I am understanding them correctly.

- That Paradise is beyond what any man, woman or slave can comprehend, so the reference to honey, milk and wine are very loose references to something beyond our imagination

- That nothing bad can come from Paradise, so wine would not lead to bad decisions, or choices we would not make whilst not under the influence if alcohol.

- What is haraam on Earth is not Haraam in Paradise.

- That the following passage means that wine in Paradise is not comparable to the wine we have here on earth;