/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Hair length

ToddChristopher
09-11-2016, 05:30 PM
I am studying up to become Muslim and some questions answered. Is my name permissible, or should I change it due to it having un-Islamic meanings? Todd means fox, so I've heard this isn't a very good name for a Muslim. I'm not entirely fond of it, so if I change it, should I change it to an Arabic name or will western name siffice? My next question is hair on men, my hair is long, it is past my shoulders but is neat and kept clean, am I commanded to cut it if I convert? I have heard that converts should "shave the hair of the unbelievers" after converting, is that true? My last question is I still am researching and trying to clear doubts, should I take my Shahadah now or wait and clear my doubts first and say it with a clear mind? Other places I've asked this have said I'm already a Muslim even without saying the Shahadah because I'm already curious, is this correct?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
noraina
09-11-2016, 06:22 PM
Assalamu alaykum,

Firstly, I'd like to congratulate you on taking this step to search for the truth and gain knowledge about Islam, you certainly won't regret it.

The first two questions I will leave for someone with more knowledge to answer, inshaAllah.

A Muslim is someone who believes that Allah swt is the only deity and is the only One worthy of worship, and that the Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) is his final messenger, and that the Qur'an was sent as the final revelation for mankind. Then there are the six articles of faith, belief in Allah swt, belief in the angels, belief in the divine Books, belief in the Prophets (as), belief in the Day of Judgement, and belief in Allah's predestination. Sincere belief in these will bring you into the fold of Islam alhamdulillah.