/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Help in mathematical physics

Nashita
05-18-2018, 01:49 PM
Assalamualaikum

I am a first year student, my course of study is physics honours.

In Laplace's eqn in spherical polar coordinates with azimuthal symmetry , while solving it using the method of separation of variables why do we equate the radial part and the theta part with a constant ?

P.S. I looked for it in Google but no where it's written why they equate it with a constant!

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Zzz_
05-18-2018, 03:08 PM
wa'alaikum as'salaam,

have you tried youtube? It's a good place to go for these questions.

you can even ask questions under the video of interest.

https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...sperical+polar

laplace equation sperical polar - YouTube
Enjoy the videos and music you love, upload original content, and share it all with friends, family, and the world on YouTube....

Nashita
05-18-2018, 05:32 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by Zzz_
wa'alaikum as'salaam,

have you tried youtube? It's a good place to go for these questions.

you can even ask questions under the video of interest.

https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...sperical+polar

laplace equation sperical polar - YouTube
Enjoy the videos and music you love, upload original content, and share it all with friends, family, and the world on YouTube....
Yes I have tried YouTube, I think I need to see some more videos on this topic.

Thank you so much!

Futuwwa
05-31-2018, 09:38 PM
I'm not entirely sure of what you're talking about, but if it is what it sounds like to me, the reason is the following:

By doing it in those coordinates, you can rearrange the equation so that all the stuff with the variable r is on one side of the equals sign, and all the stuff with the theta is on the other side. Let's call the stuff on both sides as follows (i.e. left-hand side is a function of r only, a right-hand side a function of theta only):

LHS(r) = RHS(theta)