PDA

View Full Version : Halaal and Haraam foods



aamirsaab
04-21-2005, 08:32 AM
I thought that it might be useful if we all put some foods (like a list) that are halaal/haraam on here so that we all know init?
please note that some products maybe halaal in some countries but not in others (i.e. in pakistan burger king chicken burger is halaal cus they use halaal meat but in england and american is haraam. so please specify country)

Country: UK and possibly US (most other countries as well)
halaal: Malteasers (nestle), Milkyway magic stars, Milkybar, Trollie Jellie, Walkers crips - all varities (but techincally we shouldnt eat the pork flavour as it is haraam to eat pork even thoug on the crisps its just the flavouring. iv tasted the chicken but it tastes nasty - bleugh) Similarly most crisps are halaal and so its not worth putting down their names.

Haraam: Haribo - this is absolute haram - they use beef gelatine and pork gelatine. even in the cola bottles!!! (the alternative is to get ur jelly sweets from trollie jelly company cus they are basically ' halaal haribo')

hope this helped
Reply

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Ra`eesah
04-21-2005, 09:13 AM
:sl:


INFORMATION ABOUT INGREDIENTS ON FOODS, TOOTHPASTE, SOAP ETC.

INTRODUCTION

We hope that this information will be of great use to you and that you will read the ingredient on every product before you make your purchase. If in doubt, you may write to the company. They have been very helpful in providing the requested information.

CONSULTATION OF COMPANIES

Here are the results of consultations done with various food companies. No particular questions were asked about products that may contain alcohol.


L.D. Schrieber Cheese Company:

No shortening, lard, gelatin or lecithin used. Cow products are used HALAL


Burger King Corporation:

Shortening used in from swine = HARAM
Lard is used in buns and apple pie = HARAM

Lecithin is used in buns =HARAM
Because you are not sure.

Shakes = HALAL


General Goods:

Lard is used on Swan Down Cake mixes. Gelatin (from collagen-bearing tissues of any animal) is used in many products including Jell-O Brad Gelatin Desert = HARAM


Knox Gelatin Inc.:

Knox Gelatin is prepared from the protein collagen, which is extracted from either beef (bones and skin) or PORK (SKINS) =HARAM


American Lecithin Company:

Our lecithin is derived from soybeans and is sold under the trade name Alcoles = HALAL


Nestle:

A list was sent to MSA confirming that their products do not contain any animal by-product. Lecithin used in their products is derived from Soybeans = HALAL


General Mills Inc.:

Shortening similar to lard is used, also Soya lecithin is used =HARAM

(Because it does not say Soya or lard and you don't know so it is better to avoid)


Quaker Oats:

Soybean lecithin is used. Shortening used is from swine. Some of the products are MASA Trigo, Flako pie crust and cup cake mix.



SEVERAL TERMS

A. Derived from pork or other animal


Bacon


Ham


Sausage


Lard


Fat


Gelatin


Shortening (animal).


B. Avoid - doubtful (may be derived from animal or vegetable):


Lecithin


Emulsifier


Dough conditioners


Mono and diglycerides


Enzymes or rennet in cheese

C. You can use: HALAL


Soya-lecithin


Soybean lecithin


Vegetable lecithin


Vegetable shortening


Vegetable mono and diglyceriders


Vegetable enzymes or rennetless cheese.


Fish.

D. Avoid may contain alcohol


Artificial and imitation extracts and flavorings

E. When you see these letters:

"U" or "K" they may mean that the produce does not contain anything from an animal.



AVOID THE FOLLOWING AS THEY MAY CONTAIN ALCOHOL:

Artificial and Imitation extracts and Flavorings.

MISCELLANEOUS FOOD ITEMS

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Kellog Co.
Frosted Pop Tarts
Type-B Gelatin
(Vegetable/Beef)
Investigate


Unfrosted Pop Tarts
No Gelatin
HALAL

Frank Foods
QT Frosting mix
Vegetable fat (Shortening)
HALAL

General Mills Inc.
Ready-to-Spread
Frosting
Vegetable fat/or Lard
HARAM

Proctor & Gamble
Duncan Hines
Cake Mix &
Pringles
Vegetable fat
HALAL

Great Atlantic & Pacific Co.
A&P Creamer
Coconut & Palm Oil
HALAL

Topco Assoc. Inc.
Food Club Non Dairy Creamer
Vegetable fat
HALAL


Dietary Creamer
Vegetable Fat
HALAL

Penn Maid Food Inc.
Natural Yogurt
No Gelatin
HALAL

Swiss Yogurt
Gelatin from Calf skin
HARAM

Jolly Rancher
Candies
Palm & Coconut Oil
HALAL

M & M Co.
Starburst fruit Chews
Gelatin from Lard
HARAM

American Home Foods
Crunch 'N' Munch
Vegetable Fat
HALAL




DISINFECTANT

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Lehn & Fink Products
Lyson Brand
All products
Synthetic chemicals
HALAL



BREAD AND PASTRY

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Drake Bakeries (Div. Of Borden foods Inc.)
Honey bun
Lard
HARAM

Entenmanns
All Products
Vegetable Shortening
HALAL

Giants Goods
Bread
Vegetable Shortening
HALAL

Huber Baking Co. (Bakers Of sunshine Bread)
Roman Meal Bread
Soybean Salad oil
HALAL

Keebler
All products
Vegetable Shortening
Oleo and Lard
HARAM

Nabisco
All Products
Lard
HARAM

Pepperidge farm
Rolls, Bread, Butter or Cakes*
Vegetable shortening
HALAL

* NOTE:
Layer cakes even though this cake is made with good shortening the GELATIN USED is made from PIGSKIN
HARAM

Pillsbury Co.
1896/69 Brand Butter, Milk Biscuit
Vegetable shortening
HALAL

Stroehmann Brothers Co
Hillbilly Bread
White Bread
Lard
HARAM

Sunshine Biscuit Co.
All products
Vegetable shortening
HALAL



ICE CREAM

Manufacturer
Product
Use

Baskin Robbins
Ice Cream, Sherbets, Water ice

NOTE: Ice cream and those flavors Containing might marshmallow
HALAL

HARAM

Pensupreme
Ice Cream
HARAM

Pensupreme schraff
Ice cream (available at safeway)
HALAL

Meadow Gold
Ice cream
HALAL

Meadow Gold Louis sherry
Ice cream (all natural)
HALAL

Abbotts
Ice Cream, Sherbets, Water ice
HALAL

Pantry Pride
Ice cream
HALAL

Breyers
Ice cream
HALAL



CHEWING GUM

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Dynamint Co.
Dynamints
Candelilla Wax
HALAL

Wrigley's Co.
Chewing gum
100% mineral or Vegetable base
HALAL

Warner Lambert Co.
Chewing Gum
Chicklets Dentyne Trident
Freshen Up
Vegetable base
HALAL

Beach Nut
Chewing Gum
Glcerl Monosterate Or Ester of Gum from any animal fat
HARAM



FROZEN PIZZA PIES

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Jan's
Mozzarella Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL

Buitoni
Mozzarella Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL

Little Chef
Mozzarella Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL

Ellio's
Cheddar Cheese
Swine pepsin
HARAM

Quaker Celeste
Mozzarella Cheese
Swine pepsin
HARAM




PIZZA RESTAURANTS

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Pizza Hut
Mozzarella Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL

NOTE: Making of pizza is not according to SHARIAH.
Example: They are using same pot or tray and knife that they use in pork.



CHEESE

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Purity Company
Muenster Cheese
Caraway Muenster Cheese
Monterey jack
Muenster Cheese(with hot pepper)
Farmers Cheese
Burie (Imported) Cheese
Camembert Cheese
Romano Cheese
Parmesan Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL

Clearfield
Natural Cheese Kosher Brand.
Calf Rennet
HARAM

Kraft
Philadelpia Cream Cheese
Whipped Cream Cheese
Neufchatel
Lactic acid
HALAL

McCadm Co.
New York State
Calf & swine Rennet
HARAM

Framageries Bal. Inc.
Cheese
Calf Rennet
HARAM

World Cheese Col.
Migdal American
Haolam
Vegetable
HALAL

Schanling Col.
Schnall American
(Individually wrapped)
Schnall Muenster sliced
Schnall Mozzarella
Vegetable
HALAL

Clay Butter Co.
Millers Cheese
Vegetable
HALAL


NOTE: Calf (plural = calves): a young cow or bull.



COSMETICS

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Avon
All Products
Petrochemicals
HALAL

Wella Corp.
Balsam products
Petrochemicals
HALAL

Johnson Product Inc.
Ultra Sheen
Lanolin
HALAL

Lustrasilk Corp.
Scalp Cream
Lanolin
HALAL

Westwood Pharmaceutical
Keri Lotion
Synthetic chemical
HALAL

Chesbrough Ponds Inc.
Vaseline Intensive Lotion
Lard
HARAM




SOAP

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Proctor & Gamble Co.
Kirk's Coso Hardwater Castile
Lava
Coconut oil
Vegetable fat
HALAL


Ivory
Camay
Safe Guard
Coast
Zest
Beef & Pork Tallow
HARAM

Lever Brothers Co.
Lux
Lifebuoy
Phase II
Dove
Caress
Beef Tallow*
HARAM

Colgate Palmolive Co.
Palmolive
Cashmere
Beef & Pork Tallow*
HARAM

Andrew Jergen Co.
Jergens
Woodbury
Beef Tallow*
HARAM

Armour Dial inc.
Dial
Tone
Irish spring
Beef Tallow*

Pork Tallow*
HARAM

Amway Corporation
All Bar Soaps
Pork Tallow*
HARAM


Nivia Creams
Sheep's Skin/Fat*



* NOTE: The Sheep/Beef that is obtained for the products is not slaughtered Islamically, hence, it is still doubtful.



TOOTHPASTE

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

Lever Brothers Co.
Pepsodents
Close up
Aim
Vegetable Fat
HALAL

Colgate Palmolive Co.
Ultra Brite
Colgate Paste
Colgate Powder
Lard
HARAM

Vicks Chemical Co.
Fix -A- Dent
Vegetable Fat
HALAL

Procter and Gamble
Gleen
Lard
HARAM


NOTE: Contains alcohol; still in doubt about its use.



POT CLEANERS

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use

GM Co.
Rescue 11Soap pads

HALAL

Purex Corporation Brillo
Supreme Steel Wool balls

HALAL

Soap pads
Kosher Soap (Packaged 2 each Pink& Green Bars per carton)
Double Pads
Lard
Beef Tallow
HARAM

Miles laboratory
S.O.S Soap Pads
Tuffy Plastic Mesh
Moth/Balls
Lard
HARAM




MEDICATION

Manufacturer /Vendor
Brand
Coagulant/Ingredients
Use


Seldane Caps.
Pepsin
HARAM


Seldane Syrup

HALAL




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------




LIST OF HALAL AND HARAM FOOD INGREDIENTS

INGREDIENT
TYPE

Acetic Acid
HALAL

Alcohol
HARAM

Ammonium chloride
HALAL

Ammonium Sulphate
HALAL

Animal Fat
HARAM

Animal shortening
Investigate

Ascorbic Acid
HALAL

Aspartame
HALAL

Bacon (Pork)
HARAM

Benzoate/Benzoic Acid
HALAL

BHA
HALAL

BHT
HALAL

Calcium Carbonate
HALAL

Calcium Sulphate
HALAL

Carrageenan
HALAL

Cocoa Butter
HALAL

Collegen (pork)
HARAM

Corn Meal/Corn Starch
HALAL

Corn Syrup
HALAL
Dextrin/Dextrose
HALAL

Dicalcium phosphate
HALAL

Diglyceride (Animal)
HARAM

Diglyceride (Plant)
HALAL

Dough Conditioners
HARAM

EDTA
HALAL

Emulsifier
HARAM

Enzyme (Animal)
HARAMHARAM

Enzyme (Plant)
HALAL

Ergocalciferol
HALAL

Ergosterol
HALAL

Fat (Pork or Animal)
HARAM

Fatty Acid (Animal)
HARAM

Fatty Acid (Plant)
HALAL

Ferrous Sulphate
HALAL

Fructose
HALAL

Fungal Protease Enzyme
HALAL

Gelatin
HARAM

Glucose
HALAL

Glyceride (Animal)
HARAM

Glyceride (Plant)
HALAL

Glycerol/Glycerine (Animal)
HARAM

Glycerol /Glycerine (Plant)
HALAL

Gum Acacia
HALAL

Ham
HARAM

Harmones (Animal)
HARAM

Harmones (Plant)
HALAL

Hydrogenated Oil
HALAL

Hydrolyzed Animal protein
HARAM

Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein
HALAL

Lard
HARAM

Leavenings
HALAL

Lecithin (commercial)
HALAL

Malt
HALAL

Malto Dextrin
HALAL

Hydrogenated oil
HALAL

Molasses
HALAL

Monocalcium Phosphate
HALAL

Mono Saccharides
HALAL

Monoglycerides (Animal)
HARAM

Monoglycerides (Plant)
HALAL

MSG (Monosodium Glutamate)
HALAL

Nitrates/Nitrites
HALAL

Nonfat Dry Milk
HALAL

Oxalic Acid
HALAL

PABA
HALAL

Partially Hydrogenated oil
HALAL

Pectic Materials
HALAL

Pectin
HALAL

Pepsin (Animal)
HARAM

Phospholipid (Animal)
HARAM

Phospholipid (Plant)
HALAL

Phosphoric Acid
HALAL

Pork & All by Products
HARAM

Potassium Benzoate
HALAL

Potassium Citrate
HALAL

Propionate
HALAL

Propionic Acid
HALAL

Renin Rennet
Investigate

Saccharine
HALAL

Salt
HALAL

Sausage
HARAM

Shortening (Animal)
HARAM

Shortening (Plant)
HALAL

Soy protein
HALAL

Soybean Oil
HALAL

Sucrose
HALAL

Tapioca
HALAL

Tricalcium Phosphate
HALAL

Vinegar
HALAL

Whey
Investigate

Yeast
HALAL

NOTE:


Please check the ingredients of every food brand, which you use. Also check any or all-new products you use before making your purchase. If you have any doubts, you may write or phone to the manufacturer, so far they have been very helpful to us and it will put your mind at ease.

Sorce:http://www.jamiaislamia.org/halalharam.htm
Reply

SpaceFalcon2001
04-21-2005, 11:50 AM
I warn anyone judging their food status on the plain letter K (as the article suggests). A plain letter K only means the company CONSIDERS it's product to be Kosher. It is not checked by anyone (since the letter K can not be trademarked), and is no more Halal/Kosher than an unmarked food. It could technically have anything in it, and since many companies do not list baking ingredients that are not directly in the food (such as Lard, Pork Fat), you may want to consult a local authority on the matter.

Check http://www.kashrut.com/agencies/ for a number of Kosher symbols, although you will still want to check with a local authority to see if the product complies with Halal (in case of alcohol). Some ingredients mean different things in order to be Kosher, such as Gelatin (Kosher Gelatin is made from fish, rather than other animals and/or Pork).
Reply

Ibn Syed
04-22-2005, 12:34 AM
:sl:
Sister 3washey that is the longest post I have seen on the forum so far mash'allah. Where did you get the time to do that.
:w:
Reply

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Sign Up
Ra`eesah
04-22-2005, 12:58 AM
Assalamu'Alaykum

jazakallah brother, i really didnt do anything all i did was copy and paste and just ajusted a few things. I hope its of benfit to the brothers and sisters that read it.
Reply

ummnoura
07-30-2005, 11:57 PM
Assalamu Alaikum Brothers & Sisters,

I have a few questions. One about E numbers. I am just learning that here in America we can't eat hardly anything lol. I mean who knows whats in anything here anymore, even are vegtables are mutants and chemically engineered and full of pesticides! I've ran across something called E numbers like these
E-100 E-110 E-120 E-140 E-141 E-153 E-160a E-210
E-213 E-214 E-216 E-234 E-252 E-270 E-280 E-325
E-326 E-327 E-334 E-335 E-336 E-337 E-422e E-430
E-431 E-432 E-433 E-434 E-435 E-436 E-440 E-470
E-471 E-472a-e E-473 E-474 E-475 E-476 E-477 E-478
E-481 E-482 E-483 E-491 E-492 E-493 E-494 E-495
E-542 E-570 E-572 E-631 E-635 E-640 E-904 E-920 They are all Haram

And i guess basically all those are ingredients that contain animal products and or alchohol? I am wondering how to get the latest info on them and whats the ruling on percentages if its less than part of a percent is it really bad. I have no idea what is in most of my food right now. I mean natural flavorings can be anything. Right now i dont eat anything with pork but im still consuming america meat products that are not pork. Its not practical for my family to be vegetarians and the availability of halal meat is scarce. I've also been told that alot of the halal meat in America isn't really halal. I dont have more info than that but what are the choices for people living in America? I'm not sure i am ready to cut out all the foods considered haram. Even more than half the bread, ice cream, cheese everthing has some type of animal product in it. Is starting with all Pork products and alcohol atleast the best way to start. Almost every item in my pantry has monosodiumdiglyserides and blah blah blah. I dont know........... What can we do?

Im sorry if i seem weak in my deen its just a very trying thing to find out everything you've always ate you can't. I bought some cookies the other day that i've ate for years and after i ate two i found out the chocolate chips contain alcohol! Its just dismaying. :-[

Any Advice?


Your New Muslim Sister :sister:

Kristy
Reply

Nakisai
07-31-2005, 12:12 AM
where did you hear this at=?
Reply

Safa
07-31-2005, 12:20 AM
Salam sister,

where do find these numbers? are they labeled on the food?

You should try to get halal meat from stores where you find live poultry. From there they slaughter the poultry the islamic way while you say Allahu Akbar. Most of the packaged meat you find in groceries or in whatever store are not halal anyway and should be avoided. And as for other food products, we are allowed to eat kosher food, and kosher meat also.

wa'salam
Reply

ummnoura
07-31-2005, 06:42 AM
I found these numbers online...... It said they are on certain labels. I have yet to find them on my food but maybe because i dont have much processed food. I dont know maybe someone else knows more.
Reply

aamirsaab
07-31-2005, 09:27 AM
:sl:
having trouble combatting those dreaded E-numbers? Fear not, for superma..i mean.. er.. aamir is here..i guess.
Ok, firstly, when you are buying the product check the ingredients. If it says suitable for vegetarians then your allowed it. If it contains gelatine or any of the E numbers listed in your first post then don't pick it up. simple init. Most E - numbers you can eat, however, they make children go hyper. E471 I know for a fact is haraam so if you see that number present in the ingredients, don't buy it.

As for the haraam/halaal meat. hmm, I live in UK so there is plenty of halaal food places. However, i would advise you to ask fellow muslims in America where they buy their halaal food etc. go to a mosque and ask them for all the halaal food shops. Other than that, i dunno what you can do :confused:.
:w:
Reply

A7med
07-31-2005, 11:46 AM
E-Number
Name
Description
Halal Status

E100
Curcumin/Turmeric
Color
Halal if pure grind turmeric powder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid, the solvents has to be Halal. Haram if hidden ingredient is pork fat based emulsifier in dry mix.

E101
Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
Color
Mushbooh (Haram if from pork liver & Kidney, Halal if 100% plant material

E102
Tartrazine
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E104
Quinoline Yellow
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent other than water has to be Halal

E110
Sunset Yellow FCF / Orange Yellow S
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E120
Cochineal / Carminic Acid
Color
Haram according to Hanafi Muzhab

E122
Carmoisine / Azorubine
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E123
Amaranth
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E124
Ponceau 4R / Cochineal Red A
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E127
Erythrosine BS
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E131
Patent Blue V
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E132
Indigo Carmine / Idigotine
Color
Halal if use as is as a 100% synthetic color but if pork glycerin is added as a solvent then it is Haram

E140
Chlorophyll
Color
Halal if use 100% powder or Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent

E141
Copper Complex of Chlorophyll
Color
Halal if use 100% powder or Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent

E142
Green S / Acid Brilliant Green BS
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E150(a-d)
Caramel Color/with chemicals
Color
Halal

E151
Black PN / Brilliant Black BN
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E153
Carbon Black / Vegetable Carbon (Charcoal)
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E160a
Alpha, Beta, Gamma
Color - Carotene
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E160b
Annatto, Bixin, Norbixin
Color - Carotene
Halal

E160c
Capsanthin / Capsorbin
Color- Carotene
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E160d
Lycopene
Color - Carotene
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E160e
Beta-apo-8-carotenal
Color - Carotene
Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form as a hidden ingredient. Haram if pork gelatin is used as hidden ingredient or carrier

E160f
Ethyl ester of Beta-apo-8-cartonoic acid
Color - Carotene
Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form as a hidden ingredient. Haram if pork gelatin is used as hidden ingredient or carrier

E161a
Flavoxanthin
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E161b
Lutein
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if pork gelatin or pork glycerin is added in dry or liquid form

E161c
Cryptoxanthin
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E161d
Rubixanthin
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E161e
Violaxanthin
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E161f
Rhodoxanthin
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E161g
Canthaxanthin
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E162
Beetroot Red / Betanin
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E163
Anthocyanins
Color
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E170
Calcium Carbonate (Chalk)
Color - Inorganic
Halal if obtained from rock mineral and used as 100% dry powder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid, solvent has to be Halal

E171
Titanium Dioxide
Color - Inorganic
Halal

E172
Iron Oxides and Hydroxides
Color - Inorganic
Halal

E173
Aluminium
Color - Inorganic
Halal

E174
Silver
Color - Inorganic
Halal

E175
Gold
Color - Inorganic
Halal

E180
Pigment Rubine / Lithol Rubine BK
Color - Inorganic
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

E200
Sorbic Acid
Preservative
Halal

E201
Soduim Sorbate
Preservative
Halal

E202
Potassium Sorbate
Preservative
Halal

E203
Calcium Sorbate
Preservative
Halal

E210
Benzoic Acid
Preservative
Halal

E211
Sodium Benzoate
Preservative
Halal

E212
Potassium Benzoate
Preservative
Halal

E213
Calcium Benzoate
Preservative
Halal, if calcium obtained from mineral, Mushbooh if it is obtained from bones.

E214
Ethyl 4-hydroxybenzoate
Preservative
Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E215
Ethyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt
Preservative
Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E216
Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate
Preservative
Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E217
Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt
Preservative
Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E218
Methyl 4-hydroxybenzoate
Preservative
Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E219
Methyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium Salt
Preservative
Halal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular. Haram if alcohol is used as a solvent

E220
Sulphur Dioxide
Preservative
Halal

E221
Sodium Sulphite
Preservative
Halal

E222
Sodium Hydrogen Sulphite
Preservative
Halal

E223
Sodium Metabisulphite
Preservative
Halal

E224
Potassium Metabisulphite
Preservative
Halal

E226
Calcium Sulphite
Preservative
Halal

E227
Calcium Hydrogen Sulphite
Preservative
Halal, if calcium is obtained from mineral or chemicals. Mushbooh if it is obtained from bones.

E230
Biphenyl / Diphenyl
Preservative
Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent

E231
2-Hydroxybiphenyl
Preservative
Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent

E232
Sodium Biphenyl-2-yl Oxide
Preservative
Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent

E233
2-(Thiazol-4-yl) Benzimidazole
Preservative
Halal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent

E239
Hexamine
Preservative - other
Halal

E249
Potassium Nitrate
Preservative
Halal

E250
Sodium Nitrite
Preservative
Halal

E251
Sodium Nitrate
Preservative
Halal

E252
Potassium Nitrate(Saltpetre)
Preservative
Halal

E260
Acetic Acid
Miscellaneous - Acids
Halal

E261
Potassium Acetate
Miscellaneous - Acids
Halal

E262
Potassium Hydrogen Diacetate
Miscellaneous - Acids
Halal

E263
Calcium Acetate
Miscellaneous - Acids
Halal

E270
Lactic Acid
Miscellaneous - Acids
Halal if obtained other than whey. In USA it is always from non dairy source.

E280
Propionic Acid
Preservative - Acids
Halal

E281
Sodium Propionate
Preservative- Acids
Halal

E282
Calcium Propionate
Preservative- Acids
Halal if calcium obtained from mineral, Mushbooh if it obtained from bones

E283
Potassium Propionate
Preservative- Acids
Halal

E290
Carbon Dioxide
Miscellaneous
Halal

E300
L-Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
Antioxidants- Vitamin C
Halal

E301
Sodium-L-Ascorbate
Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives
Halal

E302
Calcium-L-Ascorbate
Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives
Halal, if the calcium source is from mineral, Mushbooh if it is from bones

E304
Ascorbyl Palmitate
Antioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives
Halal if saturated fatty acid Palmitic acid is obtained from plant. Haram if palmitic acid is obtained from pork fat

E306
Natural Extracts rich in Tocopherols
Antioxidants- Vitamin E
Halal If Tocopherol is obtained from plant fat. Haram if Tocopherol is obtained from pork fat

E307
Synthetic Alpha-Tocopherol
Antioxidants- Vitamin E
Halal only if it is made with all Halal synthetic material without alcoholic fermentation

E308
Synthetic Gamma-Tocopherol
Antioxidants- Vitamin E
Halal only if it is made with all Halal synthetic material without alcoholic fermentation synthetic method

E309
Synthetic Delta-Tocopherol
Antioxidants- Vitamin E
Halal only if it is made with all Halal synthetic material without alcoholic fermentation

E310
Propyl Gallate
Antioxidants- other
Halal

E311
Octyl Gallate
Antioxidants- other
Halal if obtained from nutgalls or plant secretion

E312
Dodecyl Gallate
Antioxidants- other
Halal if obtained from nutgalls or plant secretion. Haram if alcohol was used as solvent

E320
Butylated Hydroxyanisole (BHA)
Antioxidants- other
Halal if only vegetable oil is used as a carrier. Haram if the carrier is from pork fat. It is not available as pure 100% chemical.

E321
Butylated Hydroxytoluene (BHT)
Antioxidants- other
Halal if only vegetable oil is used as a carrier. Haram if the carrier is from pork fat. It is not available as pure 100% chemical.

E322
Lecithin
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers
Halal if obtained from soy fat or egg yolk in Europe. It is Halal in USA because it is always obtained from soy fat.

E325
Sodium Lactate
Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid
Halal if the lactic acid from non dairy source

E326
Potassium Lactate
Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid
Halal if the lactic acid from non dairy source

E327
Calcium Lactate
Miscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid
Halal if the lactic acid from non dairy source and calcium from mineral

E330
Citric Acid
Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts
Halal

E331
Sodium Citrates
Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts
Halal

E332
Potassium Citrates
Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts
Halal

E333
Calcium Citrates
Miscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts
Halal if calcium source is not from bones

E334
Tartaric Acid
Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts
Halal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product, in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.

E335
Sodium Tartrates
Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts
Halal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product, in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.

E336
Potassium Tartrates (Cream of Tartar)
Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts
Halal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product, in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.

E337
Potassium Sodium Tartrates
Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts
Halal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product, in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.

E338
Orthophosphoric Acid
Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts
Halal

E339
Sodium Phosphates
Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts
Halal

E340
Potassium Phosphates
Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts
Halal

E341
Calcium Phosphates
Miscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts
Halal if calcium from mineral source

E400
Alginic Acid
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates
Halal

E401
Sodium Alginate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates
Halal

E402
Potassium Alginate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates
Halal

E403
Ammonium Alginate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates
Halal

E404
Calcium Alginate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates
Halal if calcium source is from mineral

E405
Propane-1,2-Diol Alginate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Alginates
Halal

E406
Agar
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums
Halal

E407
Carrageenan
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums
Halal

E410
Locust Bean Gum (Carob Gum)
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums
Halal

E412
Guar Gum
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums
Halal

E413
Tragacanth
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums
Halal.

E414
Gum Acacia (Gum Arabic)
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums
Halal

E415
Xanthan Gum
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - other plant gums
Halal

E420
Sorbitol
Sugar Alcohols
Halal

E421
Mannitol
Sugar Alcohols
Halal

E422
Glycerol
Sugar Alcohols
Mushbooh, called Glycerin in USA, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E440a
Pectin
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Pectin and derivatives
Halal

E440b
Amidated Pectin
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Pectin and derivatives
Halal

E450a,b,c
Sodium and Potassium Phosphates and Polyphosphates
Miscellaneous
Halal

E460
Microcrystalline / Powdered Cellulose
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives
Halal

E461
Methylcellulose
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives
Halal

E463
Hydroxypropylcellulose
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives
Halal

E464
Hydroxypropyl-Methylcellulose
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives
Halal

E465
Ethylmethylcellulose
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives
Halal

E466
Carboxymethylcellulose, Sodium Salt
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Cellulose and derivatives
Halal

E470
Sodium, Potassium and Calcium Salts of Fatty Acids
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E471
Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E472
Various Esters of Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E473
Sucrose Esters of Fatty Acids
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E474
Sucroglycerides
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E475
Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E477
Propane-1,2-Diol Esters of Fatty Acids
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E481
Sodium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E482
Calcium Stearoyl-2-Lactylate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

E483
Stearyl Tartrate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

:brother:
Reply

A7med
07-31-2005, 11:48 AM
FOOD INGREDIENTS NUMBERS WITH NO E-PREFIX

Number
Name
DESCRIPTION
HALAL STATUS

107
Yellow 2G
Colors
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

128
Red 2G
Colors
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

133
Brilliant Blue FCF
Colors
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

154
Brown FK
Colors
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

155
Brown HT
Colors
Halal if used as 100% dry color. Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal

234
Nisin
Preservative - other
Halal

262
Sodium Acetate
Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts
Halal

296
Malic Acid
Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts
Halal

297
Fumaric Acid
Miscellaneous - Acids and their Salts
Halal

350
Sodium Malate
Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
Halal

351
Potassium Malate
Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
Halal

352
Calcium Malate
Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
Halal

353
Metataric Acid
Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
Halal

355
Adipic Acid
Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
Halal

363
Succinic Acid
Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
Halal

370
1,4-Heptonolactane
Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
Halal

375
Nicotinic Acid
Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
Halal

380
Triammonium Citrate
Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
Halal

381
Ammonium Ferric Citrate
Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
Halal

385
Calcium Disodium EDTA
Miscellaneous - Salts of Malic Acid
Halal

416
Karaya Gum
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers
Halal

430
Polyoxyethane (8) Stearate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

431
Polyoxyethane (40) Stearate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

432
Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan / Polysorbate 20
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

433
Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Mono-oleate / Polysorbate 80
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

434
Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Monopalmitate / Polysorbate 40
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

435
Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Monostearate / Polysorbate 60
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

436
Polyoxyethane (20) Sorbitan Tristearate / Polysorbate 65
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - Fatty Acid derivatives
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

476
Polyglycerol Esters of Polycondensed Esters of Caster Oil
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

478
Lactylated Fatty Acid Esters of Glycerol and Propane-1,2-Diol
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

491
Sorbitan Monostearate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

492
Sorbitan Tristearate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

493
Sorbitan Monolaurate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

494
Sorbitan Mono-oleate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

495
Sorbitan Monopalmitate
Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
Halal if it is 100% from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

500
Sodium Carbonate / Sodium Bicarbonate
Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates
Halal

501
Potassium Carbonate / Potassium Bicarbonate
Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates
Halal

503
Ammonium Carbonate
Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates
Halal

504
Magnesium Carbonate
Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Carbonates
Halal

507
Hydrochloric Acid
Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts
Halal

508
Potassium Chloride
Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts
Halal

509
Calcium Chloride
Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts
Halal

510
Ammonium Chloride
Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Hydrochloric Acid and its Salts
Halal

513
Sulphuric Acid
Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts
Halal

514
Sodium Sulphate
Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts
Halal

515
Potassium Sulphate
Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts
Halal

516
Calcium Sulphate
Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts
Halal

518
Magnesium Sulphate
Miscellaneous - Acids and Salts: Sulphuric Acid and its Salts
Halal

524
Sodium Hydroxide
Miscellaneous - Alkalis
Halal

525
Potassium Hydroxide
Miscellaneous - Alkalis
Halal

526
Calcium Hydroxide
Miscellaneous - Alkalis
Halal

527
Ammonium Hydroxide
Miscellaneous - Alkalis
Halal

528
Magnesium Hydroxide
Miscellaneous - Alkalis
Halal

529
Calcium Oxide
Miscellaneous - Alkalis
Halal

530
Magnesium Oxide
Miscellaneous - Alkalis
Halal

535
Sodium Ferrocyanide
Miscellaneous - other Salts
Halal

536
Potassium Ferrocyanide
Miscellaneous - other Salts
Halal

540
Dicalcium Ferrocyanide
Miscellaneous - other Salts
Halal

541
Sodium Aluminium Phosphate
Miscellaneous - other Salts
Halal

542
Edible Bone Phosphate (Bone-Meal)
Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents
Haram if the bones from pig

544
Calcium Polyphosphates
Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents
Mushbooh, Halal if it is from minerals, Haram if it is from pig bones

545
Ammonium Polyphosphates
Miscellaneous - Anti-Caking Agents
Halal

551
Silicon Dioxide (Silica Salt)
Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts
Halal

552
Calcium Silicate
Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts
Halal

553
Magnesium Silicate / Magnesium Trisilicate (Talc)
Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts
Halal

554
Aluminium Sodium Silicate
Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts
Halal

556
Aluminium Calcium Silicate
Miscellaneous - Silicon Salts
Mushbooh, Halal if calcium from mineral rocks, Haram if calcium from pig bones

558
Bentonite
Miscellaneous - other compounds
Halal

559
Kaolin (Aluminium Silicate)
Miscellaneous - other compounds
Halal

570
Stearic Acid
Miscellaneous - other compounds
Mushbooh, Halal if the source is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

572
Magnesium Stearate
Miscellaneous - other compounds
Mushbooh, Halal if the source is from plant fat, Haram if it is from pork fat

575
Glucono Delta-Lactone
Miscellaneous - other compounds
Halal

576
Sodium Gluconate
Miscellaneous - other compounds
Halal

577
Potassium Gluconate
Miscellaneous - other compounds
Halal

578
Calcium Gluconate
Miscellaneous - other compounds
Halal

620
L-Glutamic Acid
Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers
Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant protein, Haram if it is from pig protein

621
Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)
Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers
Mushbooh, Halal if all ingredients including culture media to grow culture from Halal source, Haram if media is from pork fat

622
Monopotassium Glutamate
Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers
Mushbooh, Halal if all ingredients including culture media to grow culture from Halal source, Haram if media is from pork fat

623
Calcium Glutamate
Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers
Mushbooh, Halal if all ingredients including culture media to grow culture from Halal source, Haram if media is from pork fat

627
Sodium Guanylate
Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers
Halal if it is obtained from sardines or baker's yeast extract. Mushbooh if it is made from brewer yeast extract, a by-product of beer making

631
Sodium Inosinate
Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers
Halal if it is obtained from sardines. Mushbooh if it is made from brewer yeast extract, a by-product of beer making. Haram if it is extracted from pig meat.

635
Sodium5-Ribonucleotide
Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers
Mushbooh, it is a combination of E N 627 and EN 631

636
Maltol
Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers
Halal

637
Ethyl Maltol
Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers
Halal

900
Dimethylpolysiloxane
Miscellaneous - Flavour Enhancers
Halal

901
Beeswax
Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents
Halal

903
Carnauba Wax
Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents
Halal

904
Shellac
Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents
Halal if no if it is not treated with alcohol, two types of shellac is available, the Halal type is not treated with alcohol but other type is treated with alcohol. A gummy secretion material from the pores of a insect Coccus lacca that feed on Palas trees in India and South Asia. This gummy material is called Lac. Manufactured by Indian companies.

905
Mineral Hydrocarbons
Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents
Halal

907
Refined Microcrystalline Wax
Miscellaneous - Glazing Agents
Mushbooh, Halal if obtained from plant fat wax. Haram if it is obtained from pork fat wax

920
L-Cysteine Hydrochloride
Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour
Mushbooh, Haram if it is obtained from human hair, Halal if it is made from Halal synthetic material. The third source is from chicken/duck feathers. There is difference of opinions among different Islamic scholars. One school of ulema says it is Halal the other says not Halal.

924
Potassium Bromate
Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour
Halal

925
Chlorine
Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour
Halal

926
Chlorine Dioxide
Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour
Halal

927
Azodicarbonamide
Miscellaneous - Compounds used to treat Flour
Halal

:brother:
Reply

ummnoura
07-31-2005, 08:22 PM
Thank you so much Brown clown. Can you tell us the source for this information as its better than i've been able to locate in Books! Thanks again. I will print it.


Kristy
Reply

A7med
08-01-2005, 12:14 PM
http://www.muslimconsumergroup.com/enumbers.htm <-- i got the info from here :brother:
Reply

ummnoura
08-01-2005, 12:27 PM
Thank you so much i spent some time searching and reading more on the subject. I will be printing the list you gave. Its very good information.
Reply

Umm Yoosuf
08-04-2005, 03:17 PM
Ya Allah!

I was told all the E471, E472 etc are Haram. And i always avoided it until oneday i brought this bread suitable for veg's and it contend E471! hmmm...
Reply

A7med
08-04-2005, 03:22 PM
it depends what type of E471 they use in products
Reply

Umm Yoosuf
08-04-2005, 03:24 PM
Huh? How im a surppose to know that?!
Reply

A7med
08-04-2005, 03:48 PM
LOL!!!!! just common sence.....
one person tell u E471 is HRAM......and then u buy bread with E471 in it but it say it is sutable for vegies

so that means there must be differemt types of E471s :D
If u get me
Reply

Shekh_05
08-17-2005, 08:08 PM
Aslaama Alaikuim this is brother abdulkadir in islamic board tellin all muslims what is haram.

Brothers and sisters iam here to tell u twizzlers, starburst, skittles, bacon, pepsi vanilla, anything that has gelatin in it is very haram sisters and brothers in islam please watch out for these things remember the hadith the rasul (scw) talked about haram things and and halal things and what are hiddin in these halal foods that we eat plaese be alarmin for these kind of things waslaama Aliakum warxmatulalahi wabrakatu.

:) :) :) :) :)
Reply

Zuko
08-17-2005, 08:12 PM
Salaam,

I heard starburst wasn't haraam, but oh well... I guess I'll stop.. And if you don't mind, I want to know, is caffeine haraam? Some people say yeah, and some say no... Just curious...

Salaam
Reply

czgibson
08-17-2005, 08:16 PM
Originally Posted by Shekh_05
Brothers and sisters iam here to tell u twizzlers, starburst, skittles, bacon, pepsi vanilla, anything that has gelatin in it is very haram
Not being funny, but why are these things haraam? Do they all contain pork products? Just curious.
Reply

aamirsaab
08-17-2005, 08:22 PM
:sl:
Allow me to explain czgibson. Gelatine is derived from animal fat. If the animal is not halaal (e.g. not slaughtered in a certain way) then the gelatin from that animal is haraam.

Originally Posted by Shek_05
Brothers and sisters iam here to tell u twizzlers, starburst, skittles, bacon, pepsi vanilla, anything that has gelatin in it is very haram
Well, most muslims know that bacon is haraam ;). But pepsi vanilla? I wasn't aware that gelatin was used in drinks. Jazakallah kheir for the information though. But last time i checked, starbursts and skittles had no gelatin in them.
Reply

minaz
08-17-2005, 08:23 PM
............twizzlers,....bacon....anything that has gelatin in it is very haram
No kiddin'

is caffeine haraam?
Lol doubt it - I aint giving up my latte's!
Reply

Zuko
08-17-2005, 08:27 PM
Originally Posted by minaz
I aint giving up my latte's!
NOR WILL I...
Reply

minaz
08-17-2005, 08:29 PM
nah i don't think it's haraam why would it be?, anywho what i do think should be classed as haraam is FAGS!
Reply

Uthman
08-17-2005, 08:31 PM
:sl:

I don't know what to make of this:

CAIRO, August 3, (IslamOnline.net) - The UK Muslim Law Council has given the Muslim community the go-ahead to buy soft drinks containing tiny traces of alcohol and pork by-products, a British daily reported Monday, August 2.

The council, Britain’s highest authority on halal food, has issued a fatwa making Lucozade and Ribena the first British soft drinks fit for Muslims, following deep Muslim concerns about ingredients in the brands, The Guardian said.

“I see no harm in consuming Ribena and Lucozade which contain traces of ethyl alcohol and animal ingredients that do not bear their original qualities and do not change the taste, color or smell of the product,” Zaki Badawi, the UK Muslim Law Council chair and former adviser on Islam to the Prince of Wales, concluded.

Zaki, however, urged the drinks maker to pursue research to find alternative material in order to allay the conscience of Muslims who might be worried.

The council's ruling was welcomed by GlaxoSmithKline, the company producing the drinks.

“Soft drinks are non-alcoholic, we welcome this confirmation and hope that it can reassure those consumers who were concerned,” a spokesman for the company told the BBC News Online said.

Muslims have voiced concerns about the brands as Lucozade contains 0.01% of ethyl alcohol to aid flavoring while the filter used to produce Ribena is made of gelatin, which is derived from pigs.

The fears prompted GlaxoSmithKline to seek a religion opinion from the Muslim Law Council after Muslim consumers stopped buying its products.

It took the British company five months to get the Council’s fatwa.

The British newspaper said an incident from the life of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) helped Zaki reach his conclusion.

It cited the Prophet’s drinking of liquid produced from soaking raisins in water for several days. The scientists found that the mixture would ferment, producing alcohol, the paper added.

But Sheikh Abdul-Majeed Subh, a prominent Azharite scholar, said that raisins or dates used to be soaked in water for the Prophet, who used to drink it in the first and second days only.

“In the third day, he used to give it to his Companions—and this is an indication that it was not yet fermented. Afterwards if it was fermented, they used to pour it,” IslamOnline.net quoted Subh as saying.

Controversial

There is no unanimity, in effect, on soft drinks containing minute traces of alcohol.

Some scholars totally forbid any percentage of alcohol in drinks, arguing that it permeates the entire drink and change its qualities.

But Dr. Ahmad Sakr, the director of the California-based Foundation For Islamic knowledge, told IOL that scientists and scholars from the Islamic Food Council agree that from 0.01 to 0.05 percentage is insignificant.

The scholars, however, agree that there is nothing wrong in drinks containing animal gelatin.

Dr. Nazih Hammad, a member of the Islamic Fiqh Academy and Fiqh Council of North America, explains: “Because even if it [the gelatin] is made from haram meat it has undergone fundamental process of transformation through certain chemical changes that is called “Istihalah” in Islamic law”.

“So, the ruling of pork does not apply to it anymore and we are still allowed to use it.”

:w:


Reply

minaz
08-17-2005, 08:34 PM
Don't mind alcohol (before anyone says I don't drink!), but pork c'mon man that's not right
Reply

aamirsaab
08-17-2005, 08:35 PM
:sl:
The alcohol part I can live with as this is also present in certain brands of bread - without this small trace of it the bread wouldnt be bread if you know what I mean. The gelatine, hmm. Well, if the filter used is made of gelatine, then..but that would mean...:confused:
Reply

Far7an
08-17-2005, 08:48 PM
Assalamu alaikum
Originally Posted by aamirsaab
The alcohol part I can live with....

I can not...

They ask you (O Muhammad) concerning alcoholic drink and gambling. Say: ‘In them is a great sin, and (some) benefits for men, but the sin of them is greater than their benefit’”
[al-Baqarah 2:219]

“O you who believe! Intoxicants, gambling, al-ansaab [animals that are sacrificed on stone altars for idols], and al-azlaam [arrows for seeking luck or decision], are an abomination of Shaytaan’s handiwork. So avoid (strictly all) that (abomination) in order that you may be successful. Shaytaan wants only to excite enmity and hatred between you with intoxicants and gambling, and hinder you from the remembrance of Allaah and from al-salaah (the prayer). So will you not then abstain?” [al-Ma’idah 5:90-91]

barakallahu feekum
Reply

Takumi
08-17-2005, 08:49 PM
:sl:

A confession here.

I belonged to a sufi group once when I was young.

We had everything, hospitals, clinics, schools, our own neighborhood, abbatoir, drinks, soap, ketchup......

we should make our own products.... sigh.. :confused:
Reply

aamirsaab
08-17-2005, 10:15 PM
:sl:
Originally Posted by Far7an
Assalamu alaikum

I can not...

They ask you (O Muhammad) concerning alcoholic drink and gambling. Say: ‘In them is a great sin, and (some) benefits for men, but the sin of them is greater than their benefit’”
[al-Baqarah 2:219]

“O you who believe! Intoxicants, gambling, al-ansaab [animals that are sacrificed on stone altars for idols], and al-azlaam [arrows for seeking luck or decision], are an abomination of Shaytaan’s handiwork. So avoid (strictly all) that (abomination) in order that you may be successful. Shaytaan wants only to excite enmity and hatred between you with intoxicants and gambling, and hinder you from the remembrance of Allaah and from al-salaah (the prayer). So will you not then abstain?” [al-Ma’idah 5:90-91]

barakallahu feekum
That maybe so but do remember that the percentage of alcohol inside the product is a very small (0.01%) by-product. As I stated earlier, the same percentage is also present in bread. I read an article about that someplace.
Reply

Far7an
08-17-2005, 10:16 PM
Assalamu alaikum
Originally Posted by aamirsaab
That maybe so but do remember that the percentage of alcohol inside the product is a very small (0.01%) by-product. As I stated earlier, the same percentage is also present in bread. I read an article about that someplace.
Acha, do you or anyone else on the forum have this article? Im very interested in these findings.
Reply

aamirsaab
08-17-2005, 10:20 PM
:sl:
Sadly I dont have the article at hand - to tell you the truth, I read it quite a while ago. I will look for it soon however. Also, there is a chance that it could be found on the internet. Anyways, I gotta get to bed now, I gotta wake up early in morning to pick up results...
:w:
Reply

Zuko
08-19-2005, 04:59 PM
edit
Reply

Far7an
08-19-2005, 05:03 PM
Originally Posted by aamirsaab
:sl:
Sadly I dont have the article at hand - to tell you the truth, I read it quite a while ago. I will look for it soon ..
:w:
Interesting..


What caused bread to register on breath machines as alcohol? The theory of the state lab's experts:
Most baked products with listed contents indicating they contained yeast did in fact have some alcohol present. Alcohol is produced by the fermentation process in yeasts by their action on simple sugars used in preparing the dough....Although most of the alcohol in the dough is lost during the baking process, some is evidently retained in the matrix of the bread...

Source
Reply

Umm Yoosuf
08-22-2005, 01:36 PM
Right???..................hmmm.....
Reply

sherbie cola
08-22-2005, 01:50 PM
Assalamalakum sister

I live in the uk and the uk is tiny compared to America but still we can find alot of Halaal foods and meat . WALMART is massive in America and we have ASDA and alot of the food is stated suitable for vegetarians although we do have to check if it has alcohol in but this is a minor set back, as for meat I would get in touch with your local mosque or practising muslims and ask them about Halaal meat , I beg u not to buy haraam chicken or lamb, mutton as ALLAH will reward u for finding out and buying halal , please forgive me if i have said any thing to offend you.
Reply

Umm Yoosuf
08-22-2005, 01:59 PM
Originally Posted by sherbie cola
Assalamalakum sister

I live in the uk and the uk is tiny compared to America but still we can find alot of Halaal foods and meat . WALMART is massive in America and we have ASDA and alot of the food is stated suitable for vegetarians although we do have to check if it has alcohol in but this is a minor set back, as for meat I would get in touch with your local mosque or practising muslims and ask them about Halaal meat , I beg u not to buy haraam chicken or lamb, mutton as ALLAH will reward u for finding out and buying halal , please forgive me if i have said any thing to offend you.

Wa Alaikumusslaam Wa Rahmatulaahi Wa Barakatuh

Your over re-acting. If you clearly read what i was refering to I wasn't personally talking about meat. Since i know meat not preaped in the way of Islam is haram. I was was talking about E-Numbers. People give you a long list of E-Numbers that have not been verified by the 'Ulimah, and when you go into a super market you can't buy alot. You walk out with a few.
Reply

Z
09-27-2005, 05:41 PM
Who here likes or has tasted the Doritos Chilli Heatwave flavour?

I'd like to remind once again, please don't got off topic. Try control your hormones.

Peace out!
Reply

Protected_Diamond
09-27-2005, 05:45 PM
hmmmm...im addicted 2 all sorts of crisps...yeah they ded nice...lol...im eating seabrook naw hehe...motee me
Reply

Z
09-27-2005, 05:54 PM
Eww.

I hate them. They burn the outer ring of my lips just after eating 3 of the triangles.

Peace!
Reply

Halima
09-27-2005, 06:14 PM
I don't like doritos...and I don't like fish and chips! :p
Reply

Muezzin
09-27-2005, 06:16 PM
Yeah, I like Chilli Heatwave flavour. Cool Original are great too, but the cheese flavour is haram. Damn.
Reply

Z
09-27-2005, 06:21 PM
Tangy Cheese is Haraam? Your lying, I know it.

There must be something wrong with you if you don't like fish and chips.

PO.
Reply

Muezzin
09-27-2005, 06:22 PM
Look for the 'suitable for vegetarian' sign on the back. I know for a fact Chilli and Original flavour have it, but Tangy Cheese didn't have it last time I checked.

It might be halal though. I'd love to be proven wrong since they're a taste sensation. :)
Reply

minaz
09-27-2005, 06:22 PM
I like McCoys steak flavour also thi sweet chiili sensations!
Reply

Z
09-27-2005, 06:24 PM
Drat, I knew someone would go off topic.
Reply

Muhammad
09-27-2005, 06:30 PM
:sl:

It's very nice to see our Muslim brothers and sisters enjoying their crispy snacks, and I'm sure we could say many things about the subject... but currently I am worried that this may allow free-posting and 'free-mixing'.

If we look at the FAQ section, we see that:

2. The purpose of this forum is to educate non-Muslims and Muslims about Islam and its tenets.

May I suggest we possibly change the direction of the topic to discussing what is Haram and Halal? I hope I don't seem harsh but I doubt this thread will last long in its current state...

:w:
Reply

Protected_Diamond
09-27-2005, 06:31 PM
yeah the cheesey one is haraam but generally all the crisps which are halal are sooooooo addictive and hmmm nice!! lol
Reply

Z
09-27-2005, 06:52 PM
Please show proof where and how it makes them (Doritos Tangy Cheese) Haraam. You guys need to be careful and stop throwing the Haraam word around too often.
Reply

Muhammad
09-27-2005, 06:58 PM
:sl:

Hey look what I found - a list of Walkers Crisps that are suitable for vegetarians - not bad for a minute's searching!!! :shade:

Walkers Products Suitable for Vegetarians - Click Here

:w:

P.S. I don't think the tangy flavour doritos are on the list... :zip:
Reply

Z
09-27-2005, 06:59 PM
That still doesn't prove that Doritos Tangy Cheese flavour is Haraam.
Reply

Uthman
09-27-2005, 07:03 PM
:sl:

Doritos Tangy Cheese Flavour - HARAAM (pork derivatives)
Source

Pork derivatives? Of course, that still doesn't prove anything as the website offers no proof. I suppose we'll have to avoid it until it can be proven haraam or halaal.

:w:

Reply

Z
09-27-2005, 07:07 PM
Avoid it? Heck no.
Reply

- Qatada -
09-27-2005, 07:14 PM
:sl: warahmatulahi wabarakatuh.

Leave that about which you are in doubt for that about which you are in no doubt.


[Al-Tirmidhi and al-Nasaíi related it, and al-Tirmidhi said: It is a good and genuine Hadith]


This hadith indicates that one should only perform an act or deed (which is permissible and proper) if he is positive or certain of it. Performing this act will lead to some kind of tranquillity or happiness in this life and in the Hereafter – this is one of the benefits of applying the hadith.
Reply

Uthman
09-27-2005, 07:16 PM
:sl:

Nice post akhee :D but I think 350z was just messin'.

:w:

Reply

Z
09-27-2005, 07:17 PM
I for one think the they are not Haraam. And two, I'm not in doubt them either.
Reply

Uthman
09-27-2005, 07:20 PM
:sl:

Originally Posted by 350z
I for one think the they are not Haraam.
Why?

Originally Posted by 350z
And two, I'm not in doubt them either.
Why?

Ok, maybe you're not just messin'

:w:

Reply

baby_muslimah15
09-27-2005, 07:27 PM
Originally Posted by 350z
Please show proof where and how it makes them (Doritos Tangy Cheese) Haraam. You guys need to be careful and stop throwing the Haraam word around too often.
Salaamz, I know I feel you on that one...I dont think the tangy cheesy are haraam...But thats just me...And I love all kinds of Doritos :p
Reply

Z
09-27-2005, 07:29 PM
Why? Well I haven't been given any hard proof stating so.

And why I'm not in doubt. Doh, why should I be?
Reply

Uthman
09-27-2005, 07:35 PM
:sl:

You're right. The burden of proof lies on the one(s) who claimed that it is Haraam. But you should be in doubt, because people have said that it's Haraam so you can't be 100% certain that it's Halaal unless thou art a fool. What say ye?

:w:

Reply

baby_muslimah15
09-27-2005, 07:37 PM
Heres my question??? If the tangy cheesy doritos are haraam then shouldn't they all be???Meanin the cool ranch,Taco doritos???Just curious...Salaamz
Reply

ishkabab
09-27-2005, 07:39 PM
Asalamu alaikum
i use to eat doritos alot!!...every flavor but unfortunetly they r haraam ......they contain whey n enzymes which r produced from animals.....if u would also like to know why call DORITOS....some times u just gotta call them up cause they r the makers n producers....they tell u all the ingredients on the pack n whats not listed too....1-800-352-4477
Monday - Friday
9:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. Central Standard Time
Reply

Z
09-27-2005, 07:40 PM
People can lie. And normally when someone says something is Haraam, solid proof should be given. If not given, I don't ponder either way.

Am I ignorant?
Reply

Uthman
09-27-2005, 07:40 PM
:sl:

Doesn't it depend on the ingredients? Hypothetically, the tangy cheese flavour may have pork derivatives but the other flavouts don't.

:w:

Reply

Z
09-27-2005, 07:43 PM
But there's a lesson where if the state of something Haraam changes, the same ruling of it may not apply anymore. In this matter, no one has given solid proof stating anything that this pork derivative is Haraam so...
Reply

ishkabab
09-27-2005, 07:44 PM
listen if i dont think Doritos want less people buying their products... so why would they say it contains animal products? hmmmm?
Reply

Uthman
09-27-2005, 07:44 PM
:sl:

Originally Posted by 350z
If not given, I don't ponder either way.
They might be unable to offer the proof but it doesn't make their claim any less true. For instance, if someone loses in a debate it doesn't necessarily mean that they were wrong. It could just mean that they were unable to address some of the points that the opponent gave them. Ok, maybe a poor analogy but I can think of better ones!

Originally Posted by 350z
Am I ignorant?
Sumfin' like that. Nah, j/k.

:w:

Reply

- Qatada -
09-27-2005, 07:45 PM
:sl: warahmatulahi wabarakatuh.

if you wasnt in doubt then that could only be if you were 100% sure that this flavour is halaal - so either way, the people that say they are haraam are uncertain hence in doubt, and your not 100% certain that they are halaal hence your in doubt too, therefore we shouldn't buy the product unless we have absolute certainty (100% proof) that it is halaal.


Allah (swt) knows best.


wasalam o 'alykum warahmatulahi wabarakatuh.
Reply

ishkabab
09-27-2005, 07:45 PM
HALAAL GUIDELINES FOR A MUSLIM DIET

On the authority of Abu Huraira (May Allah be pleased with him) who said, The Messenger of Allah (may the blessings and peace of Allah be upon him) said,

"Allah, the Almighty is pure and accepts only that which is pure. Allah has commanded the faithful to do that which he commanded the messengers, and the Almighty has said, 'O` ye Messengers! Eat of the pure things, and do righteous actions'. And Allah the Almighty has said: "O` ye who believe! Eat of the pure things wherewith we have provided you." Then he mentioned (the case of) a man who, having journeyed far, is disheveled and dusty and who spreads out his hands to the sky (saying): O' Lord! -- While his food is unlawful, his drink unlawful, and he is nourished unlawfully, so how can his supplication be answered!" (Muslim)

Islamic Law has given clear guidance in respect of Halaal (lawful) and Haraam (Unlawful) based on the teachings of the Noble Qur'an and the Sunnah (Teachings of the Holy Prophet Sallallaahu AAlayhi Wasallam).

What is Halaal (permissible) is declared from the Qur'anic injunctions and Muslims are commanded to strictly adhere to these injunctions in all aspects of life.

Almighty Allah Taála says, "People of Imaan! Eat of the pure things (Halaal) that We have provided for you, and be grateful to Allah Taála" (Surah Baqarah 2:172)

The Holy Prophet Muhammad (Sallallaahu Alayhi Wasallam) has declared, "Whatever Allah Taála has declared lawful in His Book (Noble Qur'an is lawful, and whatever He has declared unlawful is unlawful, and whatever He remained silent about is forgiven. Then accept those bounties of Allah because Allah does not forget anything".

Understanding of the term Halaal and Haraam

Halaal: Lawful and Permissible / can be used.
Haraam: Unlawful and Impermissible / abstain from it / totally forbidden.

Ingredients to be checked in any product:



Alcohol or liquor


Animal gelatine


Animal Fats or Rennet

If any product has any one of these Three (3) as an ingredient then it will be Haraam/Impermissible to consume or use.

Special Points should be noted



Pork and pork products are totally forbidden.


As for dairy products like cheese and margarine only microbial (of plant origin) rennet is permissible.


The utensils should be separate for Muslims. There should be no contamination of Halaal and non-Halaal.


Any item marked or stamped with any form of Halaal certification must be verified by Appointed the Muslim theologians, who are well versed with the Islamic requirements regarding Halaal.


As for imported chickens and meat we cannot guarantee their Halaal status as we do not inspect their respective plants and are not familiar of the Halaal procedure.


Consumption of any morsel of Haraam, affects the acceptance of Ibaadat (worship).

The following foods are permissible for Muslims



Fish


All types of poultry, partridges, pigeons, etc.


Goats, sheep, cattle, camel and all types of buck, buffalo.


Rabbits

The above must be slaughtered by a Muslim according to Islamic rules, otherwise their meat will be considered Haraam. Fish does not have to be slaughtered. A fish that has died a natural death is not permissible to eat.

Haraam foods: Unlawful
Haraam foods are those foods which are prohibited by Allah and the Prophet (Sallallaahu Alayhi Wasallam).

All carnivorous (meat eating) animals and birds, e.g. lions, tigers, vultures, eagles, etc.

Any Halaal animal that has died due to natural causes, killed by some wild animal, by a fall, blow or slaughtered by a non-Muslim.

Flesh that has been sacrificed for some God or Goddess.

All forms of najasat (impurities).

Drugs/Intoxicants.

Donkeys, monkeys, elephants, etc.

Food containing Haraam items to be avoided at all times e.g. fish prepared with wine, etc. cakes, ice-cream containing rum or brandy or any Alcohol or liquor.

Contamination of a Halaal item with non-Halaal will render it non-Halaal/Haraam and unacceptable.

Jamiatul Ulama (KZN) - Halaal Department

Islamic Information
Reply

ishkabab
09-27-2005, 07:47 PM
a person who doesnt want to believe that some thing is haraam will give thousands of excuses...no matter what...even if they see the proof.....so its just better off ignoring em
Reply

Uthman
09-27-2005, 07:47 PM
:sl:

Originally Posted by 350z
But there's a lesson where if the state of something Haraam changes, the same ruling of it may not apply anymore. In this matter, no one has given solid proof stating anything that this pork derivative is Haraam so...
True, but seeing as pork is haraam, then wouldn't pork derivative be haraam too without having to see proof? Aha, you got me there.

:w:

Reply

Uthman
09-27-2005, 07:49 PM
:sl:

Originally Posted by ishkabab
a person who doesnt want to believe that some thing is haraam will give thousands of excuses...no matter what...even if they see the proof.....so its just better off ignoring em
I don't think 350z is giving excuses! He's just exploring possibilities. I wish music wasn't haraam but that doesn't mean I wont comply with the rules. Nay, I won't ignore him!

:w:

Reply

Z
09-27-2005, 07:50 PM
I think I will ask a local Scholar. End of.

Thank you so much for messing up my topic.

Peace out!
Reply

Uthman
09-27-2005, 07:52 PM
:sl:

Originally Posted by 350z
Thank you so much for messing up my topic.
Who? Me? Muezzin started it!

:w:

Reply

baby_muslimah15
09-27-2005, 07:54 PM
Originally Posted by 350z
I think I will ask a local Scholar. End of.

Thank you so much for messing up my topic.

Peace out!
LOOOL ;D ;D ;D
Reply

- Qatada -
09-27-2005, 07:57 PM
:sl: warahmatulahi wabarakatuh.

dont worry - no1 mesd it up insha Allah. we was just gettin the facts lol and if wa we said was tru then we might have saved him from eatin what is haraam.


Allah (swt) knows best.


wasalam o 'alykum warahmatulahi wabarakatuh.
Reply

Halima
09-27-2005, 08:03 PM
Salaam,

Then think it's better not to eat the "tangy cheese" flavor until you are 110% sure that it is halaal. Until then I would advise you guys not to eat it. Osman had brought up a very good point. I would say that it's better to be safe than sorry (inshallah), Allah (swt) knows best.

Wasalaam
Reply

minaz
09-27-2005, 09:55 PM
lol this is great! 4th page in 4 hours of argueing on a bag of crisps! Lol too much times on your hands - thank the lord Ramadaan is comin'!
Reply

Z
09-28-2005, 09:30 AM
Hmm, it isn't anything new minaz.
Reply

minaz
09-28-2005, 10:07 AM
Yeh Ramadaan is an annual event like the FA Cup Final
Reply

sherbie cola
09-28-2005, 10:26 AM
:p chilli flavour doritos r really nice try adding a cheese slice and salsa and jalapeeno s its so scrummy heat the cheese onit for 30 seconds, u got to try it honestly its Deliciooso :p :p :p

:wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro oh yeah I just remembered u cant eat the cool flavour in the blue packs as it not suitable for us and also the cheese flavour crisps also contain animal rennet but check the Asda brand as they r ok and taste just as good , check they state suitable for vegetarians as its been a while since i last bought them. :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro :wilted_ro
Reply

Far7an
09-28-2005, 10:32 AM
Assalamu alaikum

Ingredients of Tangy Cheese Flavour Doritos

Corn, vegetable oil, tangy cheese flavour [cheese solids, wheat flour, flavouring, flavour enhancers (monosodium glutamate, disodium 5'-ribonucleotide), colours (sunset yellow, ammonia caramel, turmeric extract), soya oil], salt.
Source

I have also emailed Walkers in regards to this matter, I should expect to hear from them soon InshaAllah.
Reply

Z
09-28-2005, 10:41 AM
Oh, your a star bro. Let us know the reply won't you.
Reply

aamirsaab
09-28-2005, 11:01 AM
Originally Posted by sherbie cola
and also the cheese flavour crisps also contain animal rennet but check the Asda brand as they r ok and taste just as good , check they state suitable for vegetarians as its been a while since I last bought them.
I eat asda food too! That makes us official asda buddies! Booyah!
Yeah erm, I would stay away from the tangy cheese dorito's - a couple of posts have provided info stating: DON'T EAT DA CHEESE....dorito's. Damn, this thread has made me mighty hungry. So i guess i'll go eat my cheese flavoured dorito's.


(that last sentence was 100% sarcasm)
Reply

Muhammad
09-28-2005, 06:46 PM
:sl:

Threads merged:

We actually have a few threads discussing the issue of which foods are Halal and which are Haram, therefore I have merged all the ones I could find and so by looking through the previous pages we will find some useful info Insha'Allaah.

:w:
Reply

Samee
09-28-2005, 11:13 PM
:sl:

I would like to ask are Poptarts haraam? It contains gelatin, but I have heard on IF that some kinds of gelatin are halaal?
Reply

baby_muslimah15
09-28-2005, 11:17 PM
Some gelatin is halal...But I dont wanna make this a long long debate so i'm going to stop....I'm just sayin what I was told
Reply

Mu'maneen
09-29-2005, 01:02 AM
:sl:

First of all, something is Haram if there is evidence to support it.

Concerning the food slaughtered from non-Muslims, the food becomes Haram if they kill it in the name other than Allah, or if the animal dies other than the throat cut.

From information we receive from UK, slaughterers are not known to kill the animal in the name of something else. Though they (the animals) receive a shock, they die from the cut from the neck.

According to many respected Scholars, eating the meat from non-Muslim countries are Halal.


Please do not place burdens upon Muslims and say that this or that is Haram.

Remember that Allah does not burden His servants more than they can bear.

If anyone wants full Tafsir of the verse that mentions the meat that is Haram, I shall be glad to post it up.

Also concerning the correct opinions, it is advised to avoid chicken if you can, that are killed by non-Muslims, as some are known to die due to electric shock.


---------------------

Visit my new Islamic Site:
http://hstrial-besmail.homestead.com/islam.html
Reply

#aFrOgUrL#
09-30-2005, 05:34 AM
I dunno much about haram food i know that Gelatine iz haram and many other stuff but Don't bother Typin it up!!!!!!! :coolsis: ;D :thumbs_up
Reply

#aFrOgUrL#
09-30-2005, 05:40 AM
A SMILE IZ A CHARITY SO EVRY BODY SMILE OK I WILL COUNT

1............... :D
2................ :D
3................ :D

NOW GIVE A BIG HUGE ENORMOUS SMILE :coolsis:


NOW SMILE :coolsis:
Reply

#aFrOgUrL#
09-30-2005, 05:40 AM
Soz Ppl But I Just Had Ta Type This Up
So Smile!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply

Sayedmohammed
09-30-2005, 09:15 AM
thanks for the info everyone :)
Reply

Mu'maneen
09-30-2005, 03:51 PM
:sl:

I dunno much about haram food i know that Gelatine iz haram and many other stuff but Don't bother Typin it up!!!!!!!
Dear Sister of Islam. Gelatine is not Haram as supported from majority of Great Scholars. :)

Just like vinegar is processed from wine, it is a different substance and hence it is Halal.

Gelatine is the same. Evidence shows that Gelatine is not meat or any part of the animal anymore. When the parts of the animal are boiled, the composition is changed and becomes an odourless colourless liquid.
Due to this and the support of Hadith, Gelatine is Halal. Even many Scholars have stated that Gelatine Pork is Halal, as it is not pork anymore.
Personally for me I eat sweets that contain Gelatine but avoid Gelatine Pork, even though the Scholars have stated it is Halal.


---------------------

Visit my new Islamic Site:
http://hstrial-besmail.homestead.com/islam.html
Reply

Vedad
09-30-2005, 04:50 PM
salam aleykum wr wb

whats ure source? which scolars? do u know if any scholars said that its haram?
Reply

Protected_Diamond
09-30-2005, 05:00 PM
coco cola is haram it contains a little bit of alcohol :zip:
Reply

Mu'maneen
09-30-2005, 05:15 PM
:sl:

whats ure source? which scolars? do u know if any scholars said that its haram?
http://www.islam-online.net/livefatw...GuestID=mzA54F

According to the information provided to us by a Muslim expert in the biggest company of food (General Food of Phillip Morris), any gelatin is Halal to eat. Because it is a new chemical formula, it becomes a different material from the ingredients, if they were from pork. Usually gelatin has originally many components of Halal animals, but pork is a possibility and usually it is not a high percentage. The conclusion is gelatin is Halal in this state.
If you want more information I can post it up Inshah'Allah.


---------------------

Visit my new Islamic Site:
http://hstrial-besmail.homestead.com/islam.html
Reply

Samee
09-30-2005, 11:02 PM
Wow, brother Mu'maneen. All this time I have been avoiding Poptarts, Starburst, etc. because of how they contained Gelatin.

One more question, are marshmallows hence halaal? What about Rice Krispies treats which contain a type of "mushy" marshmallow which glues them together to eat?

Wow, I am so surprised that it is not haraam...
Reply

ishkabab
09-30-2005, 11:26 PM
u know that alot of sites r different n contain different info...bout halaal n haraam...like for example some say nabisco is halaal n others say haraam....so we should watch out...
Reply

baby_muslimah15
09-30-2005, 11:28 PM
Originally Posted by Samiullah
Wow, brother Mu'maneen. All this time I have been avoiding Poptarts, Starburst, etc. because of how they contained Gelatin.

One more question, are marshmallows hence halaal? What about Rice Krispies treats which contain a type of "mushy" marshmallow which glues them together to eat?

Wow, I am so surprised that it is not haraam...
I eat marshamallows all the time...I dont think rice krispies are haraam cause I waz told we could eat them!!!! (By the way I love them)!!!!!! ;)
Reply

ishkabab
10-01-2005, 01:50 AM
Rice crispies treats are harm cause they contain geletin from pork i think or was it some other animal....thats why recently i saw this new rice crispies treats that are halaal....taste the same too!!
Reply

Mu'maneen
10-01-2005, 02:03 AM
:sl:

Rice crispies treats are harm cause they contain geletin from pork i think or was it some other animal....thats why recently i saw this new rice crispies treats that are halaal....taste the same too!!
any gelatin is Halal to eat. Because it is a new chemical formula, it becomes a different material from the ingredients, if they were from pork. Usually gelatin has originally many components of Halal animals, but pork is a possibility and usually it is not a high percentage. The conclusion is gelatin is Halal in this state.
I personally would eat any sweet with Gelatine, as stated earlier, though I try to avoid pork Gelatine even though it is not Haram as stated by top Scholars.


---------------------

Visit my new Islamic Site:
http://hstrial-besmail.homestead.com/islam.html
Reply

Muezzin
10-01-2005, 12:29 PM
Originally Posted by baby_muslimah15
I eat marshamallows all the time...I dont think rice krispies are haraam cause I waz told we could eat them!!!! (By the way I love them)!!!!!! ;)
Not the normal cereal, those Rice Crispie treat bar thingies.

And wow, Gelatine is halal now? You have no idea how that just broadened my horizons. :p
Reply

Bass
10-01-2005, 03:14 PM
Thanx Bruv
V. Useful
I'll keep it in mind
Reply

baby_muslimah15
10-01-2005, 03:18 PM
Originally Posted by Muezzin
Not the normal cereal, those Rice Crispie treat bar thingies.

And wow, Gelatine is halal now? You have no idea how that just broadened my horizons. :p
Yep(are u being funny) and I ment rice krispies treats
Reply

Mu'maneen
10-01-2005, 03:23 PM
:sl:

Barak Allah Fekum My Dear Brothers and Sisters of Islam.


---------------------

Visit my new Islamic Site:
http://hstrial-besmail.homestead.com/islam.html
Reply

aamirsaab
10-01-2005, 03:50 PM
:sl:
I read that info bout halaal gelatine. I am wondering, does it apply to UK (and outside US). If so, get out the way fools, dibs on the gummy bears!
Reply

sherbie cola
10-01-2005, 05:32 PM
Aamirsaab I never knew u could find a Asda in Japan! also just forget about gummy bears coz there all off limits .
Reply

Samee
10-01-2005, 05:43 PM
Originally Posted by Muezzin
Not the normal cereal, those Rice Crispie treat bar thingies.

And wow, Gelatine is halal now? You have no idea how that just broadened my horizons. :p
Same here!
Reply

aamirsaab
10-01-2005, 08:04 PM
:sl:
Originally Posted by sherbie cola
Aamirsaab I never knew u could find a Asda in Japan! also just forget about gummy bears coz there all off limits .
I'm actually not from Japan - nor am I living there at the moment. But you gotta admit it would be cool if I did (I put it as my location just to confuse government agents - but don't tell anyone, k ;)). And on-topic: so gummby bears are off limits...but what about...COLA BOTTLES!
Reply

S_87
10-01-2005, 08:33 PM
:sl:

Of the foods which are to be found nowadays, some of them are clearly haraam, such as dead meat [from an animal which has died naturally as opposed to being slaughtered properly] and pork. Some foods may contain ingredients and derivatives which come from haraam sources, so we have to find out where they come from so that we may know what the ruling is concerning them. The gelatin which was mentioned in the question may originate from the skin, muscles and bones of haraam animals such as pigs. Hence gelatin which is derived from collagen which comes from pigs is haraam, because it is as if the pig had been turned into salt. The most correct view is that it is haraam even if it has been changed, so long as it originally came from a pig, which is haraam.
source
Reply

Zuko
10-01-2005, 10:30 PM
I know this is waaaay off topic, but you know, since your salaah and du'aa aren't accepted for 40 days if you eat something haraam, then will your fasting during ramadan be accepted either?

And if it isn't, what if a person ate it (the food) by accident, like realized it was haraam after eating it, Will his/her fasting be accepted then?
Reply

Mu'maneen
10-01-2005, 10:33 PM
:sl:

That source is wrong when it comes to the correct Fatawa.

Gelatine is clearly not meat anymore.
If this is the case then vinegar is Haram as the same steps of biological and chemical change occurs in both cases.

These Scholars who claim that Gelatine is Haram have no proper evidence as the Ayats and Hadith quoted does not support the case with Gelatine.


---------------------

Visit my new Islamic Site:
http://hstrial-besmail.homestead.com/islam.html
Reply

Far7an
10-01-2005, 10:39 PM
wa alaikum asalaam

That source is wrong when it comes to the correct Fatawa.
You are saying, it is wrong to accept fatawa from that site? if so, why?

If this is the case then vinegar is Haram as the same steps of biological and chemical change occurs in both cases.
Jaabir (may Allaah be pleased with him) reported that the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “What a good food is vinegar.” (Reported by Muslim, 3/1623)

Reply

Mu'maneen
10-01-2005, 10:54 PM
:sl:

You are saying, it is wrong to accept fatawa from that site? if so, why?
If you want to follow that opinion then you may choose so, but to then go around saying that to eat it is Haram is wrong, as top respected Scholars have stated that it is Halal.

There is no evidence what so ever to support that eating it is Haram.

Please answer this question:

How can it be Haram when it is not animal composition anymore?

They claim it is Haram, yet they do not want to accept the fact that it is not animal composition anymore.


---------------------

Visit my new Islamic Site:
http://hstrial-besmail.homestead.com/islam.html
Reply

ishkabab
10-02-2005, 04:16 PM
Even havin any type of doubts about some product ...u should leave it until u can confirm its halaal....
Reply

Mu'maneen
10-02-2005, 06:13 PM
:sl:

Even havin any type of doubts about some product ...u should leave it until u can confirm its halaal....
Sister (Mashah'Allah, I finally got it right :) ), I have set up the evidence within the post. As with all the top Scholars of Islam who have stated what I have stated. I personally have not heard any respected Scholars claiming that it is fully Haram.

Inshah'Allah if you want I can post up full Tafsir concerning the Ayats of Quran to explain this further.

Please Note: The Tafsir I have are all in Arabic.


---------------------

Visit my new Islamic Site:
http://hstrial-besmail.homestead.com/islam.html
Reply

Samee
10-09-2005, 07:50 PM
Originally Posted by Mu'maneen
:sl:



Sister (Mashah'Allah, I finally got it right :) ), I have set up the evidence within the post. As with all the top Scholars of Islam who have stated what I have stated. I personally have not heard any respected Scholars claiming that it is fully Haram.

Inshah'Allah if you want I can post up full Tafsir concerning the Ayats of Quran to explain this further.

Please Note: The Tafsir I have are all in Arabic.


---------------------

Visit my new Islamic Site:
http://hstrial-besmail.homestead.com/islam.html
How do you explain islamq-a.com's ruling that it is haraam? Why is it wrong?
Reply

halupalu
10-09-2005, 08:15 PM
r the e numbers on the packets
Reply

Mu'maneen
10-10-2005, 01:02 AM
:sl:

How do you explain islamq-a.com's ruling that it is haraam? Why is it wrong?
Brother, I do not care which website states it. The Scholars and Imams I received such information from, and the information that I studied by myself, has come to the final conclusion that states, "We cannot call it Haram".

I admit, for a few years I used to avoid meats that were not labelled Halal, until one day I decided to study this topic in more detail. We still at home eat Halal food, but I am not going to lie and say I have not touched non-Halal labelled food. I avoid at best chicken due to the information I have obtained.

Like I said, if you want I can post full Tafsir of the Ayats that are mentioned Inshah'Allah.


---------------------

Visit my new Islamic Site:
http://hstrial-besmail.homestead.com/islam.html
Reply

halupalu
10-10-2005, 08:28 PM
THIS WEBSITE IS GOOD ASWELL
www.gmwa.org.uk
Reply

Samee
10-11-2005, 07:02 PM
Originally Posted by Mu'maneen
Brother, I do not care which website states it. The Scholars and Imams I received such information from, and the information that I studied by myself, has come to the final conclusion that states, "We cannot call it Haram".

I admit, for a few years I used to avoid meats that were not labelled Halal, until one day I decided to study this topic in more detail. We still at home eat Halal food, but I am not going to lie and say I have not touched non-Halal labelled food. I avoid at best chicken due to the information I have obtained.

Like I said, if you want I can post full Tafsir of the Ayats that are mentioned Inshah'Allah.
:sl:

My dear brother, with all due respect, this is a serious matter. All my life I have heard Gelatin is haraam since its from pork. And Islamqa.com is a very reliable site. They answer many questions and seem to be on the true path of Islam.

I know you have talked to scholars and the like, but I just can't go on what you tell me alone :(

I also know the tafsirs are in arabic, but is there any other info or any other type of knowledge you can give to me in regard to this matter?
Reply

Taalib-e-'Ilm
11-01-2005, 06:16 AM
salam, i was wonderin if we could do anything with restaurants who say say are halal and also butchers which have certificates which are like issued since 97.... this is a serious matter... there is a solution- HMC. Halal muslm community started off in leicester but is working really slow in london and other towns... can we do omething abt it... we gotta help this hmc out in order for them to get to place but how.. i wonder if we culd use the forums.. i mean what is the gaurantee that we go nandos which says they are halal and they have pork sausages right in front of your eyesight, which eventually leads u to a doubt and so the food becomes unlawfull for ya if u have any doubt within it- a sahih hadith ive read sumwhere. wassalam
Reply

Ssss_muslimah
07-13-2006, 02:07 PM
:sl:
Anyone has any idea about haram items in cosmetics???
Reply

Yanal
08-17-2007, 02:10 AM
Any canada halal and haram products please pm me to send please and JazakAllah Khar in advance
Reply

all4salam
02-08-2008, 04:37 PM
salam alaikum, this is very helpful. i am new to islam. and this was well needed for me. mashallah.
Reply

Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Sign Up

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-29-2010, 06:36 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-26-2009, 07:29 AM
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-18-2008, 03:15 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-15-2007, 04:01 AM
  5. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-11-2006, 07:19 PM

IslamicBoard

Experience a richer experience on our mobile app!