/* */

PDA

View Full Version : URGENT: Why isn't Music allowed?

Fishman
06-24-2006, 07:43 PM
:sl:
I've been having a big discussion with my non-Muslim parents about why music isn't allowed, and since I'm not very good at debates, I don't have very good answers. They keep telling me that music hasn't done them any harm, and that music makes you happy. I've tried comparing the affects of music to illegal drugs, but they keep asking me what harm having something to make you feel a certain way does. They also keep accusing me of being autistic, because of the apparent 'rules are rules' atitude they think I have, and they are worried about me becoming an extremist or just hiding away from society to get away from doing haram things. Please answer me soon, because I need answers before I go on a bike ride.

Please don't close this because it's a music topic, I really need answers. If I don't have any, they'll just think it's a stupid prohibition.

Please answer soon, I really need your help!
:w:

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Taqiyah
06-24-2006, 08:01 PM
ASalama Alaikum...
I hope this answers your question. Enjoy........

:heated: Listening to music and singing is a sin and cause for the sickening and weakening of the heart. The majority of the scholars of the Salaf are unanimous that listening to music and singing and using musical instruments is Haram (prohibited).

Evidence that Music and Singing are Haram:uhwhat

1. Allaah said, what translated means, "And of mankind he who purchases idle talks to mislead (people) from the Path of Allaah without knowledge, and takes it (the Path of Allaah) by way of mockery, For such there will be a humiliating torment[31:6].:statisfie