/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Some Questions About Islam

Kashnowe
01-22-2007, 08:18 PM
hello all i am a new member who is a christian. i joined this forum because i have a 2 month old son whose father is muslim and i want to educate myself on the faith. i work with many egyptian, pakistani, and moroccan muslims and i find that there are many similarities on how muslims and christians choose to live life. we are more alike than different.

we both believe in one God, the same God and he is a God of love. i wish more people in the world could realize that one statement. i think it means alot.

i wanted to answer a few questions with what i know (i am no expert) .
i have been attending catholic church every sunday since i was born.

first thing is a christian is defined as a person who believes in one God and that he sent his son Jesus (son is not literal because Jesus is God in the likeliness of a human so yes Jesus is God in human form basically) to earth as the messiah.

i understand the messiah to be the savior of the jews (and everyone else). he is the savior because he brought us the truth and the truth sets us free. christians are people who follow the teachings of jesus and believe that when he died and was then resurrected (easter) that was proof to all (because he and only he could rise from the dead) that he was indeed the messiah.

so Jesus is our savior because he lived his life without sin. he taught us that the only way to happiness is to avoid temptation and evil and to live like him. he also assured us that no one person will ever be able to attain a perfect life without sin thats why Christians believe in asking for forgiveness from God in prayer. sinning is inevitable but if we ask for forgiveness, God will forgive, it is his nature. and believing that and living that way is what makes someone a christian and gets them into heaven.