/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Gardens beneth which...

chris4336
02-17-2007, 01:31 AM
I have a short question. The English translation of the Quran of the description of Paradise is typically (from what I have heard) "Gardens beneth which rivers flow"

I am just wondering if an Arabic speaker or someone who understands better can clear this up for me. Does it mean the rivers are literally under the gardens? Like if you are standing in a garden and then if you dig a little underground you will have a river? Or does beneth mean just running through the garden?

I know we can never fully imagine what Paradise will look like, but I was always curious about this verse because it is repeated over and over, and it never really made much sense to me (in English).

Thank You

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Skillganon
02-17-2007, 01:34 AM
:sw:

I am no expert in arabic, but out of curiousity what verse is it sis?

chris4336
02-17-2007, 01:48 AM
Okay I found one in Sura 48 verse 5

That He may cause the believing men and the believing women to enter gardens beneath which rivers flow to abide therein and remove from them their evil; and that is a grand achievement with Allah

But I have heard it in a lot of different verses.

Malaikah
02-17-2007, 02:07 AM
:sl:

From what I have read, it literally means that the rivers will be underneath the gardens. How does that work? I don't know, but lets hope we will find out one day! :)

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
- Qatada -
02-18-2007, 07:51 PM
:wasalamex