PDA

View Full Version : Chewing gums are haraam...



Abdul-Raouf
03-26-2007, 02:19 AM
they contain haraam animal fats..

Im i correct?
Reply

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Woodrow
03-26-2007, 02:25 AM
You would need to check the ingredients on the individual gums and the country of origin. All chewing gums are simply flavored rubber, natural or synthetic. The natural rubber chicle is a pure vegetable product. The flavorings could make a difference as to if it will be Halal or haram. The synthetic rubber or rubber substitutes can be anything from a petroleum product or various animal proteins or plastics.

It all depends on the ingredients. The gums from Islamic countries are more likely to be halal.
Reply

HIJABI***
03-26-2007, 08:48 AM
Originally Posted by Muzammil
they contain haraam animal fats..

Im i correct?
i believe some are but not all as the brother sed just read the ingredients!!!!!!!!
i luv chewing gum i cud neva giv up:D
Reply

Strzelecki
03-26-2007, 08:50 AM
I think I might be addicted to chewing gum :lol:
Reply

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Sign Up
Sanobar
03-26-2007, 08:54 AM
Originally Posted by buriedaway_4536
I think I might be addicted to chewing gum :lol:
:D :D same here!!!lol..

yes sum do contain animal fats.... as bro already said..u jus need to chek the ingredients :D
Reply

SirZubair
03-26-2007, 10:32 AM
The haram ones are haram, yes.

The halal ones are halal tho... :blind:
Reply

deen_2007
03-26-2007, 11:19 AM
some do....some dnt. like woodrow said...checking the ingredients is the best way to find out
Reply

enaya
03-26-2007, 05:25 PM
i didnt knw that i thoought chewing gum like extra helps to lose weight
Reply

Snowflake
03-26-2007, 05:30 PM
Wrigley's is halal :D
Reply

IbnAbdulHakim
03-26-2007, 05:32 PM
Originally Posted by Muslimah_Sis
Wrigley's is halal :D
jazakAllah khair, this stressed one of my friends quite a lot, i'll text him right now lol


btw are you hundred percent sure?
Reply

Snowflake
03-26-2007, 05:33 PM
yeh it says 'suitable for veggies' on it
Reply

Pk_#2
03-26-2007, 05:33 PM
AsalamuAlaykum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh.

chek em outtt

http://www.islamicboard.com/basics-islam/1664-halaal-haraam-foods.html

http://www.islamicboard.com/health-science/28488-halaal-haraam-food-awareness.html
Reply

Woodrow
03-26-2007, 05:36 PM
From a current listing:



HALAL

Wrigley's Co.


Chewing gum


100% mineral or Vegetable base


HALAL

Source:http://www.jamiaislamia.org/halalharam.htm
Reply

enaya
03-26-2007, 05:37 PM
ya rabbi plzzz dnt tell its haram coz if it is hw am i going to think
Reply

Pk_#2
03-26-2007, 05:38 PM
jazakAllah ^^

i also remember a chewing gum thread like this one

Where it go?

or was it another forum

Peace!
Reply

England
03-26-2007, 05:42 PM
I'm glad I read this... anything with animal fat I shouldn't be eating myself :rollseyes
Reply

Snowflake
03-26-2007, 05:48 PM
^are u a vegetarian?
Reply

enaya
03-26-2007, 05:49 PM
so chewing has animal fat does that mean we cant have anykind of chewing gum or is it just wrigleys sorry i need to know coz i have a lot of chewing my frnds a re worse then me they pop one in their mouths every half an hour)
Reply

Woodrow
03-26-2007, 06:01 PM
Originally Posted by enaya
so chewing has animal fat does that mean we cant have anykind of chewing gum or is it just wrigleys sorry i need to know coz i have a lot of chewing my frnds a re worse then me they pop one in their mouths every half an hour)
:sl:

there are quite a few that are halal check these links:

Source:http://www.jamiaislamia.org/halalharam.htm

http://www.halalcandyuk.com/acatalog/Chewing_Gums.html

http://www.geocities.com/HotSprings/Spa/9987/halal.htm

http://www.alibaba.com/catalog/10830...Gum_Gummy.html
Reply

England
03-26-2007, 06:02 PM
Originally Posted by Muslimah_Sis
^are u a vegetarian?
I'm a vegan.
Medical reasons.
Reply

Snowflake
03-26-2007, 06:05 PM
oh ok.. hope ur medical problems get better
Reply

England
03-26-2007, 06:15 PM
Originally Posted by Muslimah_Sis
oh ok.. hope ur medical problems get better
No there's nothing wrong with me lol I'm not retarded or anything. It's just an eating disorder (phenylketonuria) I've had since birth but I've got it under control. I'm just as healthy as alot of people if not healthier.

Thanks anyway :)
Reply

Maarya
03-26-2007, 09:03 PM
:sl:
a bit off-topic, but got to do with chewing gum, i was reading the local paper last week and it said in there that chewing gum helps you concentrate more and helps you burn calories and also can helps to control ur appetite
Reply

chacha_jalebi
03-26-2007, 09:23 PM
its all bout bubblicious:D gum, that is best and so scrumplicious and heavy :D there was anova gum thread beforee aswellll
Reply

England
03-26-2007, 09:26 PM
Chewing gum prevents me from biting my nails too... :D
Reply

aadil77
03-26-2007, 09:31 PM
bro just post up the brands of chewing gums that you are sure are haraam, so that we can all be aware of them:thumbs_up
Reply

England
03-26-2007, 09:40 PM
Originally Posted by aadil77
bro just post up the brands of chewing gums that you are sure are haraam, so that we can all be aware of them:thumbs_up
Have a look here along with other foods, toothpaste and soaps etc

http://www.jamiaislamia.org/halalharam.htm
Reply

Mawaddah
03-26-2007, 10:20 PM
:sl:


Aaaaaaah My heart just about stopped when I saw the thread title!!

I live on gum :exhausted

Hubba Bubba all the way! But is that Haram or not? :-\

Bad news about Hubba Bubba. I just did a google search for the ingrediants.

Ingredients

Sugar , Gum Base , Corn Syrup , Glycerol , Natural and Artificial Flavors , Citric Acid , Lecithin , Malic Acid , Corn Starch , Acesulfame K , Sorbitol , Aspartame , BHT To maintain freshness , Yellow 5 , Blue 1 , Red 40


I found three ingrediants that can be from haram sources. It is a wrigly product and does not show up on the list of the Halal wrigly products.
Reply

.:Umniyah:.
03-27-2007, 03:25 AM
:sl:
I hear this so much, and most people think things contaning gelatin or the likes of this is haraam to eat, but according to Shaykh Ibn Uthaimeen and Shaykh Bamzool/Shaykh Al Albaani, it is not.

They explained it saying that because of the chemical break down of the pork and whatever it goes thru, it is no longer pork. So they said the ruling isnt upon what it was but rather what it is now. As the like of wine. Wine itself is haraam, but the grapes before the wine isnt. So there for you couldnt drink wine and say its okay because the grapes are halal.

But anyways They gave a bunch of examples. So heres the link for you guys to read for yourself.

http://www.salafitalk.net/st/viewmes...=10&Topic=3488

If you scroll down to Hamza ibn Shaukat ibn Muhammad You'll see Shaykh Bazmools dar which was translated he's giving Shaykh Al Albaanis fatwa concerning this issue. Along with notes of his own i believe.

:w:
Reply

Camomilla
03-28-2007, 01:37 PM
Iz Airwaves chewing gum haraam?
Reply

Khadijah79
04-04-2007, 10:44 AM
Some chew gum has pork fat init :YUCK:

And even some chocolate cake's as pork fat into so people always remember to read the ingredients
Reply

Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Sign Up

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-15-2011, 12:29 PM
  2. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-02-2009, 11:38 PM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-25-2009, 05:53 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-18-2008, 02:03 PM
  5. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-09-2006, 10:30 AM

IslamicBoard

Experience a richer experience on our mobile app!