/* */

PDA

View Full Version : GCSE Anthology

AhlaamBella
04-06-2007, 01:12 PM
:sl:

So many interpretations to the culture poems in this book that we students have to study!

This thread is for us all to study them together and go over the messages and techniques etc.

The first one I studied was Search For My tongue. Any comments?

Khadijah

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Kittygyal
04-06-2007, 01:21 PM
salamualikum.

identity of two different languages, Gujrati it's in the middle because it's for the attention and the way it's structured. It's got repitition and enjarment.

...And if you lived in a place you ''HAD'' to. where it says had sujata Bhatt has been forced. Theres alot of metaphors ''Rot and die in your mouth'' that is referring to a plant.

This poem is all about like a living thing in Sujata Bhatt's mouth, she thinks she lost her mother language but it comes back to her.
Ma'assalama

AhlaamBella
04-06-2007, 03:03 PM
Right! I love the last stanza. The way she describes her mother tongue blossoming in her mouth. It's beautiful.

Kittygyal
04-06-2007, 03:05 PM
salamualikum.
Yes she says something like this

''It blossoms out of my mouth''

Ma'assalama

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
ummAbdillah
04-06-2007, 03:06 PM
salaam
i need to revise those peoms and practise essay writing
coz we've exam's comming up soon!! this threads will be
useful! thanks for starting it sis
wa salaam

Kittygyal
04-06-2007, 03:08 PM
salamualikum.
What about ''Halfcaste''?? lol John Argard is well funny haha
Ma'assalama

ummAbdillah
04-06-2007, 03:14 PM
salaam
i saw John Argard reading some of his poems in this museum that we went