/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Is Islam an Arab religion? Answering a common Q

Sami Zaatari
05-31-2007, 06:52 PM
salam all, one common question/misconception amongst non muslims is that Islam is an Arab religion, made by an Arab, and for the Arabs. however so no such teaching exists in any Islamic texts.

http://muslim-responses.com/Is_Islam...Arab_Religion_

the article answers this common Q and quotes what Islamic sources have to say concerning this matter. the article should be helpful to non muslims seeking to become Muslim, and to new Muslims as well. :)

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Ubaidah
05-31-2007, 08:53 PM
:sl:

I actually received this question a lot from people when I first reverted to Islam. What I said to them was (and forgive me if I'm a little fuzzy on some things, I'm still learning):

- Islam is a continuation of Judaism & Christianity, and the complete revelation by God (the Qu'ran). It holds many of the same truths of the 2 other major religions but restores the original monotheistic faith of Abraham, Moses, Jesus, etc, etc.

- Islam was brought to the Arabs by Muhammad (pbuh) first because they were a group who had no in which to follow as most were pagans.

- And lastly I bring up the point that Arabs only account for about 20% of the 900 million to 1.3 billion Muslims worldwide.

While the idea that Islam is an "Arab" religion does rub me the wrong way, all I try to do is show that it not only is NOT an "Arab" religion. But try to show all the beauty and wonder that is Islam. But that is just me.

Balthasar21
06-05-2007, 12:00 AM
format_quote Originally Posted by Sami Zaatari
salam all, one common question/misconception amongst non muslims is that Islam is an Arab religion, made by an Arab, and for the Arabs. however so no such teaching exists in any Islamic texts.

http://muslim-responses.com/Is_Islam...Arab_Religion_