/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Beginner's Guide To Norweigan (Bokmal)

omar_2133
10-25-2007, 03:49 PM
Assalmu-Alaikum,

I'm not a Norweigan speaker myself, and I'm still learning the language, but I just thought it would be of benefit both to me and everyone else if I shared some of what I've learnt so far. I'll be splitting the lessons into weeks so it will take a week to learn what's listed, and I hope to update the forum with different lessons once per week.

Introduction

There are two types of languages spoken in Norway; Bokmal and Nyorsk. In this brief course, we'll go through the former, Bokmal which is the older, but more widely spoken language (spoken by 85% of Norweigans).

If you're familiar with English, then Norweigan shouldn't be too hard to grasp:), as surprise surprise, it is part of the same family of northern European Germanic languages.

Links

Lesson 1 will start as of next week. In the meanwhile, you can get yourself immersed in the style of the language, and get used to the sight of Norweigan words and sentences, by going on this Norweigan website of a national newspaper in Norway, which also provides an English version of it's site:

http://www.aftenposten.no/english/
(Click on "Norweigan Frontpage")

Or browse the Norweigan Wikipedia:

Norweigan (Bokmal) Wikipedia

Final Notes

Please, don't be put off by the little signs on top of the letter, or between it, such as : ø or å.

They are just simple accents, and once you actually begin to learn the language, you'll forget about any discomfort you had, just looking at Norweigan text.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
wafa islam
10-25-2007, 08:46 PM
Salamu alaykum brother!

Så fint at du lærer norsk.

Means so nice that you are learning norwegian!

Wa alaykum salam

omar_2133
11-01-2007, 09:59 AM
Before I begin the lessons, just to inform you that the basic format for the majority of the lessons will be of a pragmatic approach and will contain the following: