× Register Login What's New! Contact us
Page 1 of 2 1 2 Last
Results 1 to 20 of 36 visibility 18526

Becoming an imam

rpwelton's Avatar Full Member
    brightness_1
    star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate star_rate
    Religion
    Islam
    Threads
    Rep Ratio
    Likes Ratio

Becoming an imam

Report bad ads?

As I struggle to find out what kind of career I want in this life, I find myself being drawn more and more towards becoming an imam. I enjoy teaching people, and I am very passionate about Islam, even though I've only been a Muslim for about a year now.

I work in the finance industry right now, and although it's OK and the money is pretty good, I just don't see myself lasting in this field for the long term. The thought of becoming an imam, however, is obviously not motivated by monetary purposes. As I continue to think about this as a possible position for me in the future, I'm curious about a few things:

1) I know that Imams must go through extensive schooling to become educated about all facets of Islam and learn arabic (for those whose native tongue is not arabic). Most Imams that I know have been educated overseas, but is that a necessity? Are there any good schools in the US or Canada that can prepare one with the kind of knowledge one needs to be an imam?

2) What is the average salary for an imam in the US? It feels like kind of the wrong question to ask, but after all we have to pay bills and feed our families. I realize that it will be a significant pay cut from any kind of corporate job I could get.

Also, in regards to the above question, how do Imams make enough to support their families? I have a well-paying job, but if my wife did not work we would literally be living paycheck to packcheck. Since I would probably make about half as much as an Imam, I'm not sure how I could adequately support a family.

Jazakallahirn!
    chat Quote

2. Report bad ads?